Jen Wixson to sign her newest release in the Sovereign Series, The Songbird of Sovereign, at Beyond the Sea Book Festival, Saturday July 26th, 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

By Beyond the Sea | Jul 16, 2014

Welcome to Sovereign! A wonderful world of love and friendship created by Maine farmer and author Jennifer Wixson. Comprised of four heart-warming novels, The Sovereign Series is set in the mythical town of Sovereign, Maine where eccentric and lovable characters weave in and out of the books like good friends dropping in for a cup of tea.


Popular residents of Sovereign include the retired music teacher Miss Hastings and the old chicken farmer Wendell Russell. Each book is a stand-alone novel that features a feisty leading lady complete with her own challenges, mischances, and loves. The novels have been compared to the classic tales of Lucy Maud Montgomery (Anne of Green Gables) and Betty MacDonald's book (The Egg and I).


Get lost in this picturesque town of rolling pastures, frog ponds, and pine-scented woods whether while sharing a picnic with your new friends at the Millett Rock or watching two lovers pick fiddleheads beside Black Brook. Come visit Sovereign--the doors are always open (and unlocked). But be careful; you might never want to leave!


About the author:  Jennifer Wixson, a Maine farmer, writer, and itinerant Quaker minister, lives in Troy where she and her husband raise Scottish Highland cattle. You can follow Jennifer @ChickenJen (Twitter) and find more information on her Facebook author's page or


FMI:  visit or

Email inquiries to Nanette, phone 207-789-5555

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.