Trekkers’ fifth annual Trekkapalooza concert did not take place Jan. 2 due to the New Year’s snowstorm. It has been rescheduled for May 29, the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, at the Strand Theatre, 345 Main St. Ticketholders may use their tickets then or bring them to the Trekkers office for a refund.

Trekkapalooza showcases a diverse and talented set of Maine-based acts in an energizing and fun Battle of the Bands. The featured bands are eligible to win a cash prize and be crowned best Bus Band of 2010.

A number of Midcoast bands are featured this year including Waldo County’s Odlaw, which prepped for the competition by performing at New Year’s By The Bay in Belfast. Last year’s debut was highlighted by a dance floor of revelers whose exuberant gyrations assisted in the abatement of a very frosty eve. Odlaw brings together songwriter/musicians with very different musical backgrounds to create an alternative, pop, country, blues, new old wave sound. The power trio features Gary Grant on percussion; Sam Ladd, guitars and vocals; and bassist/singer Jerry Weaver. The band has an album in the works, which can be sampled at

Tastes Like Chicken, named Bus Band 2009 at the last Trekkapalooza, started up in September 2007. Originally consisting of a large number of members, it boiled down to Cole Barbour and Aaron Clarke on guitar, Jake Nagy on bass and Joe Njache on drums, with vocals all around. They rehearse in a greenhouse next to Barbour’s house and have released a demo CD.

Lost Generation is an alternative rock band from Appleton that has been together for about three years. Members include Nathan Schultz as lead vocalist and guitarist; Melissa Simmons as vocalist and guitarist; Dakota Summers as bass guitarist; and Dave Schultz as studio-drummer.

The Vicky Andres Band is known to local and regional music fans alike, as Andres wrote and sang her first song at age 3 and has been a musician ever since. The self-taught Andres began playing guitar at 14, influenced by Stevie Ray Vaughn, Jimmy Page and the raw sounds of alternative rock. Her vocals have been described as a mix of Grace Slick and Ann Wilson with a little Melissa Etheridge thrown in. Her band features two talented musicians, the ever-in-demand Jason Dean on drums and Max MacFarland on 11-string bass, adding the perfect amount of edginess.

Chaos Sauce is a collective of musicians that includes the members of Knox County’s Waiting On Ian plus Tom Meehan. Philisoraptor is David Butler on bass and Kyle Sareyani on guitar, with local drum eccentric Steve Grima on the kit.

Tickets to the chem-free event are $10 in advance and $12 at the door, if available. All proceeds from the show benefit Trekkers, a nonprofit outdoor-based mentoring program that connects caring adults with young people through expeditionary learning, community service and adventure-based education. For more information, visit; or contact Don Carpenter, Executive Director, at 594-5095 or

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail to