For the sixth consecutive year, the Searsport District High School Alumni Association awarded three, $1000 scholarships to seniors graduating from Searsport District High School during Class Night ceremonies held in the Memorial Gymnasium June 3.

This year’s scholarships were awarded in memory of former School Board member Joan Probert and long-time SAD 56 faculty members Evelyn Robbins and Robert Tufts. Said former Alumni Board President Georgene Coombs, “These scholarships are made possible each year through the continuing generosity of local businesses, citizens and alumni of our high school through fundraising efforts such as our annual Hamilton Marine Amateur Golf Tournament (taking place this year on Sept. 11).”

Donations may be made to future scholarships at: SDHS Alumni Association, P.O. Box 444, Searsport, ME 04974. Close to $200,000 in scholarship money was awarded to various graduating seniors during the night’s ceremony.