Tim Ferreira of Unity survived a couple of early scrapes, bouncing back from a mid-race pit stop, to roar past his competition and drive to victory lane for the first time this season in the Late Model Division feature event June 26 at Unity Raceway.

Cole Robinson of Clinton dominated in round one for the Geo & Sons Teen Thunder Division, while other feature event victories were posted by Nick Huff of Orrington, Ryan Robinson of Waterville, Steve Rackliff of Starks, Lance Chapman of Benton, Justin Moore of Madison, Chelsea Young of Winterport and Henry Boudreau of Winterport.

Ferreira was one of many Late Model racers forced to the pit area after most of the field got caught up in a wreck triggered by race leader Jeff Burgess and David Folsom I, who appeared to get clipped as he was almost completely past the early leader. Folsom, of Skowhegan, got turned around and the balance of the field piled into the lead duo in turn one.

After a quick trip to the pit area for hasty repairs, Ferreira restarted from the fifth position and quickly worked his way past reigning track champion Frank Moulton of Burnham into a lead he would not relinquish. Moulton hung on to finish second, while Folsom rebounded to claim third-place hardware. Will Collins of Appleton and Seth Raven of Waldo rounded out the top five. Burgess and Ferreira won heat races. Several other minor caution periods slowed the event.

Nick Huff prevailed in Racin’ Paper Super Street competition, with rock-’em, sock-’em competition aplenty visible in his rear view mirror throughout the 25-lap distance. Mark Dodge of Anson, filling in for Brad Bellows, drove to a second-place finish in his first appearance of the season, with the final podium position filled by Skip Conner, also making his first appearance of the year at Unity Raceway. John Kalel II of Orrington finished fourth, followed by Allen Moeller of Dresden. Conner scored the heat race victory in his first on-track run of 2010.

Ryan Robinson survived several restarts and led all the way to score his first win of the season in the Keystone Automotive Wildcat class. Behind him were several altercations, usually involving the second- and third-place cars on the track in a race featuring an inordinate amount of over-aggressive driving by several front runners. Robinson battled side-by-side with Andy Turbovsky of Winslow in the closing laps to secure the victory, with the division’s hottest driver, Bryan Robbins of Montville, right on their rear bumpers as the checkered flag waved. Burnham racers Chris King and Brent “Poochie” Chase completed the top five. Burnham’s Carl McAlpine won the heat race.

Lance Chapman made a dramatic, last-lap move to get by reigning division champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea and beat the king to the line by inches to claim the checkered flag following the Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini feature. Chapman and Wilson diced with each other throughout the 20-lap race, building a healthy advantage over third-place finisher Gregg Cumming of Augusta, who had his best run of the season, to date. Dylan Lancaster of Skowhegan raced to a fourth-place finish in a borrowed car after a heat race crash. John Fortin of Vassalboro rebounded from a wild heat race ride to finish fifth in the main event. Wilson won the heat race.

Justin Moore dominated the competition in the Aable Auto Parts Flyin’ 4 feature, extending his slim point lead slightly. Zach Audet of New Sharon claimed the second-place trophy, with Shadow Folsom of Skowhegan third under the checkered flag. Cody Sleeper of August and Bruce Nickerson of Norridgewock filled the top five. Audet carried the checkered following the heat race.

Cole Robinson dominated the early laps in the 35-lap Geo & Sons Teen Thunder Triple Crown series race. Track promoter George Fernald offered both Robinson and his brother Kyle Robinson a $50 bonus to go to the back of the pack on a mid-race restart and they took him up on the offer. Cole was able to reclaim the lead and romp to victory lane, while Kyle had to settle for a third-place finish behind Cornville racer Jayson Bosworth. Emily McAlpine of Burnham led several laps before crossing the line in fourth position. Westley Turner of Montville was the fifth-place finisher. Cole Robinson also claimed victory in the heat race.

In the Ladies class, Chelsea Young drove away from her rivals in the closing laps after a long, fierce battle with eventual runner-up Mika Wilson of Chelsea and the runner-up’s mother, Carol Wilson, who finished third. Amanda Batchelder of Fairfield and Alica Goodwin of Clinton completed the top five. Mika Wilson won the heat race.

Reigning Enduro champion Henry Boudreau claimed his first victory of the year in a 25-lap event. Daymon Dodge of Troy was the best of the rest, with Rob Paddack of Clinton picking up the third-place trophy. Ken Pelotte ended up in fourth position, with first-time starter Chuck Robbins of Skowhegan claiming fifth position.

Racing will continue on Saturday, July 3 at 5:30 p.m., with fireworks added to the racing program. It’s also a benefit for the Volunteer Regional Food Pantry, with fans and competitors encouraged to bring non-perishable food items to donate. Unity resident with proof or residency will be admitted to the grandstand area at half price.

For more information, call 453-2021 or visit online at unityraceway.info.

The individual results from June 26 racing were:

Late Model — 1, Tim Ferreira, Unity; 2, Frank Moulton, Burnham; 3, David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 4, Will Collins, Appleton; 5, Seth Raven, Waldo; 6, Darren Doucette, Sidney; 7, Dylan Turner, Freedom; 8, Markus Lowe, Jackson; 9, Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 10, Mike Hodgkins, Jefferson; 11, Ralph Nason, Unity; 12, Louis Picard, Palmyra; and 13, Kyle Turner, Freedom.

Racin’ Paper Super Street — 1, Nick Huff, Orrington; 2, Mark Dodge, Anson; 3, Skip Conner, Oakland; 4, John Kalel II, Orrington; 5, Allen Moeller, Dresden; 6, Jim Shorey, Kingston, N.H.; 7, Steve Rackliff, Starks; 8, Nate Weston, Madison; and 9, Kyle Gallant, Veazie.

Keystone Automotive Wildcat — 1, Ryan Robinson, Waterville; 2, Andy Turbovsky, Winslow; 3, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 4, Chris King, Burnham; 5, Brent Chase, Burnham; 6, Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 7, Ed Gilblair Sr., Skowhegan; 8, Eddie Gilblair Jr., Skowhegan; and 9, Brian Whitney, Burnham.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four — 1, Steve Rackliff, Starks; 2, Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 3, Corey Walker, Augusta; 4, Cary Davis, Solon; 5, Norm Cummings Jr., Augusta; and 6, Bill Ellis, Parkman.

Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini — 1, Lance Chapman, Benton; 2, Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 3, Gregg Cummings, Augusta; 4, Dylan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 5, John Fortin, Vassalboro; 6, Dominic Bailey, Benton; and 7, Tim Collins, Farmingdale.

Aable Auto Parts Flyin’ 4 — 1, Justin Moore, Madison; 2, Zach Audet, New Sharon; 3, Shadow Folsom, Skowhegan; 4, Cody Sleeper, Augusta; 5, Bruce Nickerson, Norridgewock; 6, Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 7, Mike Gilbert, Canaan; and 8, James Corson, Benton.

Waterville Oaks Ladies — 1, Chelsea Young, Winterport; 2, Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 3, Carol Wilson, Chelsea; 4, Amanda Batchelder, Fairfield; and 5, Alica Goodwin, Clinton.

Geo & Sons Teen Thunder — 1, Cole Robinson, Clinton; 2, Jayson Bosworth, Clinton; 3, Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 4, Emily McAlpine, Burnham; 5, Westley Turner, Montville; 6, Kayla Chesley, Skowhegan; 7, Colby Robbins, Montville; and 8, Ricky Pease Jr., Detroit.

Enduro — 1, Henry Boudreau, Winterport; 2, Daymon Dodge, Troy; 3, Rob Paddack, Clinton; 4, Kenneth Pelotte, Fairfield; and 5, Chuck Robbins, Skowhegan.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at sports@villagesoup.com.