Jeff Burgess of Fairfield won his second straight Late Model feature race July 23 to top the card at Unity Raceway. Other feature winners on the program included Brad Bellows of China, Andy Turbovsky of Winslow, Cary Davis of Solon, Gregg Cummings of Augusta, Justin Moore of Madison, Mika Wilson of Chelsea, Jayson Bosworth of Cornville and Alex Fernald of Benton.

Burgess had turned around a dismal season the previous week with a triumphant run in his Late Model, and on Friday night the veteran car builder made it back-to-back feature victories in the top class at Unity Raceway.

It was no cakewalk for veteran racer Brugess as he had to outduel, then hold off, reigning track champion and current points leader Frank Moulton of Burnham. David Folsom I of Skowhegan picked up third-place hardware in a wild, full moon 35-lap event. Will Collins of Appleton, who led several laps early in the race, finished in fourth, followed by Dylan Turner of Freedom. Late Model heat races were won by Dylan Turner and Collins.

Brad Bellows of China also made his second consecutive win, dominating the 25-lap main event for the Racin’ Paper Super Street class. Nate Weston of Madison was the best of the rest, with Nick Huff of Orrington able to steal the final podium position from early race leader Steve Moulton of Holden on the final lap. Steve Rackliff of Starks rounded out the top five.

Andy Turbovsky of Winslow rode the lazy boy to another feature victory in the Keystone Automotive Wildcat Division. “Turbo” outraced Ryan Robinson of Waterville to the checkered flag, ending the runner-up’s two-race win streak. Chris King of Burnham led the first half of the event, grabbing third-place honors as the checkered flag waved. Maurice Young of Chelsea and Tyler “T-Bone” Ring of Detroit rounded out the top five. Turbovsky also won the heat race.

Cary Davis of Solon led wire-to-wire in the 20-lap Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four feature event. Mike Mason ended a tough night on a good note with as second-place performance. Corey Walker of Augusta finished third, followed by Steve Rackliff of Starks and Norm Cummings Jr. of Augusta. Davis also scored a victory in the heat race.

It was a career-first feature win in the Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini class for veteran competitor Gregg Cummings of Augusta. Cummings vaulted into the lead on the green flag and held off all challengers for 20 laps. Lance Chapman of Clinton challenged Cummings in the closing laps, but the multi-race winner had to settle for runner-up honors on this night. Reigning division champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea earned the final podium position, followed by Tim Collins of Farmingdale and Bob Grady of Augusta. Chapman won the heat race.

Justin Moore bounced back from a first-lap crash to continue his winning ways in the Aable Auto Parts Flyin 4 main event. Brad Bosworth of Cornville was the best of the rest, with third-pace hardware going to Zach Audet of New Sharon. Mike Gilbert of Canaan and Cody Sleeper of Augusta completed the top-five rundown. Bosworth claimed the checkered flag in the heat race.

Mika Wilson won by a large margin in the Waterville Oaks Ladies Division, ending Chelsea Young’s impressive winning streak. Wilson led the entire distance, surviving an altercation with Young, which ended the Winterport driver’s chance to earn yet anther trip to victory lane. Amanda Batchelder of Fairfield claimed runner-up honors, with the third-place trophy claimed by Christie Foster of Norridgewock. Alica Goodwin and Young rounded out the top five. Young won the heat race.

It was a special night for the Geo & Sons Teen Thunder class, with a 35-lap feature on tap for round two of the Linkletter Triple Crown Series. Jayson Bosworth of Cornville found his way past the division-dominating Robinson brothers to claim victory. Kyle Robinson ended up crossing the line in second position, with a strong run for Westley Turner of Montville netting a third-pace finish. Cole Robinson recovered to finish fourth, with the top-five filled out by Kalib Bernatchez of Vassalboro. Bosworth also won the heat race.

Alex Fernald, a 15-year-old rising racing star, came from dead last on the starting grid to win the 25-lap Enduro race after a ferocious battle with veteran Zach Audet. Chuck Robbins and Daymon Dodge were second and third under the checkered flag ahead of Audet. Kayla Allen of Winterport rounded out the top five.

Racing action continues with post time set for 5:30 p.m on Saturdays through the end of September, with a special event schedule in October.

The individual race results from July 23 were:

Late Model — 1, Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 2, Frank Moulton, Burnham; 3, David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 4, Will Collins, Appleton; 5, Dylan Turner, Freedom; 6, Seth Raven, Waldo; 7, David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 8, Markus Lowe, Jackson; 9, Ralph Nason, Unity; 10, Kyle Turner, Freedom; 11, Tim Ferreira, Unity; 12, Ed Drake, Vassalboro; and 13, Dustin Hubbard, Unity.

Racin’ Paper Super Street — 1, Brad Bellows, China; 2, Nate Weston, Madison; 3, Nick Huff, Orrington; 4, Steve Moulton, Holden; 5, Steve Rackliff, Starks; and 6, Bob Fortier, Winslow.

Keystone Automotive Industries Wildcat — 1, Andy Turbovsky, Winslow; 2, Ryan Robinson, Waterville; 3, Chris King, Burnham; 4, Maurice Young, Winslow; 5, Tyler Ring, Detroit; 6, Eddie Gilblair Jr., Skowhegan; 7, Bryan Robbins, Montville; and 8, Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four — 1, Cary Davis, Solon; 2, Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 3, Corey Walker, Augusta; 4, Steve Rackliff; and 5, Norm Cummings Jr., Augusta.

Monster Energy Monsta Mini — 1, Gregg Cummings, Augusta; 2, Lance Chapman, Clinton; 3, Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 4, Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 5, Bob Grady, Augusta; 6, John Fortin, Vassalboro; 7, Nick Lizotte, Sidney.

Aable Auto Parts Flyin’ 4 — 1, Justin Moore, Madison; 2, Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 3, Zach Audet, New Sharon; 4, Mike Gilbert, Canaan; 5, Cody Sleeper, Augusta; and 6, Brian Dickey, Madison.

Waterville Oaks Ladies — 1, Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 2, Amanda Batchelder, Fairfield; 3, Christie Foster, Norridgewock; 4, Alica Goodwin, Clinton; and 5, Chelsea Young, Winterport.

Geo & Sons Teen Thunder — 1, Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2, Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 3, Westley Turner, Montville; 4, Cole Robinson, Clinton; 5, Kalib Bernatchez, Vassalboro; and 6, Mike Fernald Jr., Benton.

Enduro — 1, Alex Fernald, Benton; 2, Chuck Robbins, Montville; 3, Daymon Dodge, Troy; 4, Zach Audet, New Sharon; and 5, Kayla Allen, Winterport.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at