The race for the first Maine Late Model championship began July 25 at Wiscasset Raceway.

Twenty-four Late Models from all over the state lined up on the front stretch for the first of three Maine Alliance races. The 100-lap feature started with a wave off from all of the drivers as they paraded past the grandstands.

The three heat winners started up front with Daren Ripley in his #70 “big race car” starting in the pole position. Also starting up front were heat winners Michael Landry in the #40 and Nick Reno in the #41. Corey Morgan, coming off his top three Oxford 250 finish, also started up front in the #26 car. Two generations of Maine racers, Dave “Boss Hogg” and Josh St. Clair, driving the #14 and #33 respectively, also ended up front with second-place heat finishes.

Ripley’s #70 was the fastest car for most of the race. He led through 70-plus laps with Mike Landry, the St. Clairs and the #87 of Chuck Colby making up the lead pack. There was aggressive driving as the Late Model racers got to know each other on the track and the first half of the race was punctuated by several cautions.

After 80 laps the field was seven Late Models down and the race for the win was door to door. After leading most of the race, Ripley’s #70 gave out and he was forced down pit road late. This opened the door for Colby in his #87 Late Model to pull out the win. Landry, who was right behind the #70 for most of the race, took second and Josh St. Clair third. Colby, a veteran Wiscasset racer, made his triumphant return with a big win in the first of the three Maine Alliance races.

The race for the championship continues at Speedway 95 in Bangor on Saturday, Sept. 11 and Spud Speedway on Saturday, Sept. 25.

Official Maine Alliance Results — 1, Chuck Colby; 2, Mike Landry; 3, Josh St. Clair; 4, Mike Hopkins; 5, Dave St. Clair; 6, Shane Clark; 7, Puncin St. Clair; 8, Nick Hinkley; 9, Tyler Robbins; 10, Brenton Parritt; 11, Duane Seekins; 12, Danny Smart; 13, Jerry Williams; 14, Sulo Burbank; 15, Corey Morgan; 16, Daren Ripley; 17, Tharren MacDugal; 18, Rowland Robinson Jr.; 19, John Phippin; 20, Craig Robbins; 21, Nick Reno; 22, Milo Haney; 23, Dale Swoboda; and 24, John Albert.                

Twisted Tea Mini Stocks — 1, Thomas True; 2, Rob Greenleaf; 3, Pete McCollett; 4, Chelsea Young; and 5, Adam Armstrong.

U.S. Cellular Super Streets — 1, Adam Chadbourne; 2, Allan Moeller Sr.; 3, Ryan Ripley; 4, Josh Bailey; and 5, Ryan St. Clair.                    

Wiscasset Outlaws — 1, David Childs; 2, Pat Maloy; 3, Chris Burgess; 4, Scott Ueinott; and 5, Missy Morgan.

New England Transmission Strictly Streets — 1, Mike Short; 2, Ian Bresnahan; 3, Mike St. Germain; 4, Dale Nessmith; and 5, Glen Henderson.

Knox Carquest/Ray Haskell Ford Enduro’s — 1, Ryan Chadwick; 2, Adam Chadborne; 3, Mike St. Germain; 4, Justin White; and 5, Kevin Buxton.

Results from the first Lincoln County Enduro championship: 1, Curt Hewins; 2, Justin White; 3, Arthur Kee; 4, Ryan Chadwick; and 5, Wayne Ambrose

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at