Members of the Governor’s Task Force on Wind Power Development include:

• R. Alec Giffen, director, Maine Forest Service;

• Sen. Phillip Bartlett, D-Gorham;

• Juliet Browne, Verrill Dana lawyer who represented wind power developers, including First Wind and TransCanada;

• Pete Didisheim, director of advocacy, Natural Resources Council of Maine;

• Judith A. Dorsey, private citizen;

• Rep. Stacey Fitts, R-Pittsfield;

• Sen. Walter Gooley, R-Farmington;

• Jody Jones, wildlife ecologist with Maine Audubon;

• John Kerry, director, Office of Energy Independence and Security;

• Kathleen Leyden, coastal program manager, State Planning Office;

• David Littell, commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection;

• Rep. W. Bruce MacDonald, D-Boothbay;

• Milton McBreairty, business manager, IBEW Local Union 567;

• Patrick McGowan, commissioner, Department of Conservation;

• Steve Timpano, environmental coordinator, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife;

• David Wilby, executive director, Independent Energy Producers of Maine, an energy industry trade group.

A 17th member, Dave Publicover of the Appalachian Mountain Club, was an alternate with the Maine Audubon representative on the task force.

Naomi Schalit is executive director and senior reporter of the Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting, a nonprofit and nonpartisan journalism organization based in Hallowell. The e-mail is and the Web site is