Twenty-year-old stock car driver Frank Moulton is getting hot. Moulton of Burnham won his third straight Late Model feature race Aug. 14 at Unity Raceway to extend his lead atop the point standings in the premiere class at the historic Waldo County oval track.

Moulton’s closest pursuer on the night was David Folsom I of Skowhegan, a three-decade-plus motorsports competitor who had a son racing in the same main event several years older than the winner. Moulton, also seeking his third straight championship in the premiere racing division at the third-mile oval, had never put together a three-race win streak before Saturday.

Runner-up Folsom was followed under the checkered flag by Seth Raven of Waldo. Dean Fuller of Albion, a legend and a multi-time champion in the track’s Pro Stock Division, returned to competition at Unity with a fourth-place finish. Ajay Picard of Palmyra rounded out the top five.

Keystone Automotive Wildcats were the highlighted class on the card and multi-time division champion Carl McAlpine of Burnham returned from a self-imposed exile to dominate the 50-lap co-feature. Maurice Young of Chelsea claimed the final trophy. Current points leader Andy Turbovsky of Winslow cruised to a fourth-place finish, good enough to extend his advantage in the championship chase.

Mark Dodge of Anson got to wheel the infamous ‘Barney’ 73 car in the Racin’ Paper Super Street Division competition, and he made short work of a potent field with several early-season winners falling victim en route. Ricky Burgess Jr. of Waterville was the best of the rest, with Nate Weston of Madison prevailing in a spirited battle for third with Nick Huff of Orrington. Kyle Gallant of Veazie rounded out the top five.

Multi-time Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four Division champion Steve Rackliff of Starks outran Corey Walker of Augusta to the checkered flag. Clinton’s Ben Clark was third across the line.

Mike Wilson of Chelsea surprised almost no one by rising to the occasion in the stretch drive toward the track title to claim another feature win in the Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini class. He is the reigning and multi-time champion of Unity’s top four-cylinder stock car class (Pro Fours being somewhat more modified). Naturally, Wilson’s closest competition when the chips were on the line is Lance Chapman, who was second across the line, which is where he stands in the championship battle, well within striking distance. Third-place finisher Tim Collins of Farmingdale joined the victory lane festivities.

Zach Audet of New Sharon outran points leader Justin Moore of Madison to the finish line in the Flyin’ 4 Division feature race action. Tim Robinson’s children were out of town, so the Clinton driver borrowed one of their rides while the boys were away and grabbed the final trophy in the Aable Auto Parts-sponsored class.

Chelsea Young of Winterport continued her recent dominance in the Waterville Oaks Ladies class, extending her recently-acquired lead in the championship standings over Mika Wilson, who lost ground this week with a fifth-place run blamed on equipment failure. Samantha Letourneau of Benton claimed runner-up hardware, re-establishing herself as a threat anytime she straps on a helmet, with Amanda Batchelder handed the third-place trophy.

Jayson Bosworth of Cornville got to the checkered flag first in an unusually-wild Geo & Sons Teen Thunder main event. Mike Fernald Jr.’s recent good fortune continued with a runner-up finish, with the Benton driver beating Ricky Pease of Detroit for second best in class.

Alex Fernald’s win in the Enduro race was enough to vault him into the points lead in the entry-level class. The 15-year-old rising star outran recent hotshoe Donny Silva of Hudson to earn victory lane accolades this week. Bill Winter took the final trophy in front of reigning track champion Henry Boudreau of Winterport.

Late Model — 1, Frank Moulton, Burnham; 2, David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 3, Seth Raven, Waldo; 4, Dean Fuller, Albion; 5, A.J. Picard, Palmyra; 6, Markus Lowe, Jackson; 7, Dylan Turner, Freedom; 8, Kyle Turner, Freedom; 9, Louie Picard, Palmyra; 10, Ed Drake, Vassalboro; 11, Will Collins, Appleton; 12, Bobby Seger, Frankfort; 13, David Folsom II, Skowhegan; and 14, Jeff Burgess, Fairfield.

Racin’ Paper Super Street — 1, Mark Dodge, Anson; 2, Ricky Burgess Jr., Waterville; 3, Nate Weston, Madison; 4, Nick Huff, Orrington; 5, Kyle Gallant, Veazie; 6, Steve Rackliff, Starks; and 7, Rodney Turner, Montville.

Keystone Automotive Wildcats — 1, Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 2, Ryan Robinson, Waterville; 3, Maurice Young, Chelsea; 4, Andy Turbovsky, Winslow; 5, Brian Whitney, Burnham; 6, Chris King, Burnham; 7, Sonny Robinson, Benton; and 8, Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro 4 — 1, Steve Rackliff, Starks; 2, Corey Walker, Augusta; 3, Ben Clark, Clinton; 4, Tim Robinson, Clinton; and 5, Norm Cummings, Augusta.

Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini — 1, Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 2, Lance Chapman, Benton; 3, Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 4, Greg Cummings, Augusta; 5, Nick Lizotte, Sidney; and 6, Josh Switzer, Waterville.

AAble Auto Parts Flyin 4 — 1, Zach Audet, New Sharon; 2, Justin Moore, Madison; 3, Tim Robinson, Clinton; 4, Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 5, Rodney Williams, Oakland; 6, Robbins; and 7, Brad Bosworth, Cornville

Waterville Oaks Ladies — 1, Chelsea Young, Winterport; 2, Samantha Letourneau, Benton; 3, Amanda Batchelder, Fairfield; 4, Alica Goodwin, Clinton; and 5, Mika Wilson, Chelsea.

Geo & Sons Teen Thunder — 1, Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2, Mikey Fernald, Benton; 3, Ricky Pease, Detroit; 4, Wesley Turner, Montville; 5, Colby Robbins, Montville; 6, Emily McAlpine, Burnham and Kaleb Bernatchez, Vassalboro.

Enduro —1, Alex Fernald, Benton; 2, Donny Silva, Hudson; 3, Bill Winter; 4, Henry Boudreau, Winterport; and 5, Barry Wright Jr.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at