David Folsom I of Skowhegan was the biggest winner Oct. 2 at Unity Raceway, while Zach Audet of New Sharon claimed three first-place trophies on the Fernald Frenzy Fun card, filled with novelty racing events.

Folsom, a competitor in the Late Model Division, topped the weekly racing programs at the 1/3-mile Waldo County oval. He was declared the winner of the 100-lap Enduro race after apparent victor Mickey Landry of Norridgewock was disqualified for multiple technical violations.

Folsom had led much of the first 60 laps or so, swapping the top spot in the early stages of the race with his son, David Folsom II, and Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro, before Landry went by and proceeded to lap the field, getting by eventual winner David Folsom I as the white flag waved.

Chris Burbelo of Frankfort drove a steady race, hanging in the top five throughout the century grind to pick up runner-up honors. Multi-time Unity Raceway Wildcat champion Carl McAlpine of Burnham grabbed the third-place trophy. Bill Winter of Sidney and John Fortin of Vassalboro rounded out the top five.

Audet prevailed in the Backward Race, Bag Race and Ramp Race.

In the Backward race, Audet outdueled Justin Moore of Madison in a race-long battle. Moore, who outpointed Audet in the season-long race for the Unity Raceway Flyin’ 4 Division title, settled for runner-up honors in front of Winterport racer Henry Boudreau.

In the Bag Race, where a co-pilot directs the driver with a bag over his head around the race track, Audet paired with navigator Lacey Merrill to earn a decisive victory. Samantha Letourneau and Amanda Batchelder teamed for a popular runner-up finish, with
Patrick Cook following the directions of Ken Cook en route to a third-place finish.

The Ramp Race, where drivers must put at least two wheels over a ramp approaching the start-finish line on every lap, saw Audet lead all the way.  Paul Jackson of Augusta was the best of the rest, with Kerlsy Santos of Waterville third.

John Fortin of Vassalboro teamed with Samantha Letourneau of Benton to win the Jack & Jill Race, where drivers had to stop and change drivers on every lap without leaving the car. Fortin and Letourneau were second across the line, but apparent winners Bruce Nickerson and Ashley Savage were disqualified for seat belt usage violations. Paul Jackson and Brandi Jackson claimed the runner-up trophy. Zach Audet and Lacey Merrill teamed for a third-place finish, followed by the mother/son team of Ed and Jodi Sleeper.

A Powder Puff race for women (with any regular competitor ineligible) was won by Brandi Jackson of Augusta. Samantha Farnham made a late charge into second position, with Michele Dubois, who led much of the race, settling for third-place laurels.

Ben Clark of Clinton teamed up with Kerlsy Santos of Waterville to claim the race-your-neighbor trophy.

Chris King of Burnham was most impressive in the burnout contest.

Bob Seger Jr. of Frankfort narrowly missed the track record with a 101-foot leap in the ramp jump contest.

The 2010 season at Unity Raceway concludes next weekend with the annual Long John Weekend at Unity Raceway. Saturday, Oct. 9 will be mostly filled with qualifying events for all weekly divisions, while Sunday, Oct. 10 action is highlighted by a 100-lap Late Model race, along with 75-lap events for Super Street and Wildcat Division racers.

All other divisions are scheduled for 50-lap features. Racing action on both Saturday and Sunday is scheduled for 1 p.m.

The individual results from Oct. 2 races were:

Enduro — 1, David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 2, Chris Burbelo, Farnkfort; 3, Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 4, Bill Winter, Sidney; 5, John Fortin, Vassalboro; 6, Mike Moore, Madison; 7, Steve Moulton, Holden; 8, Paul Jackson, Augusta; 9, Chris King, Burnham; and 10, Dustin Ward, Unity.

Backward Race — 1, Zach Audet, New Sharon; 2, Justin Moore, Madison; 3, Henry Boudreau Jr., Winterport; 4, Patrick Cook, Swanville; and 5, Bruce Nickerson, Norridgewock.

Ramp Race — 1, Zach Audet, New Sharon; 2, Paul Jackson, Augusta; 3, Kerlsy Santos, Waterville; 4, Bruce Nickerson, Norridgewock; and 5, Bob Seger Jr., Frankfort.

Bag Race — 1, Zach Audet & Lacey Merrill; 2, Samantha Letourneau and Amanda Batchelder; 3, Patrick Cook and Ken Cook; 4, John Fortin and Jamie Knight; and 5, Chris King and Dean Curtis.

Jack & Jill Race — 1, John Fortin and Samantha Letourneau; 2, Paul Jackson and Brandi Jackson; 3, Zach Audet and Lacey Merrill; and 4, Ed Sleeper and Jodi Sleeper.

Powder Puff — 1, Brandi Jackson; 2, Samantha Farnham; and 3, Michele Dubois

Race Your Neighbor — 1, Kerlsy Santos, Waterville and Ben Clark, Clinton; and 2, Patrick Cook, Swanville.

Burnout Contest — 1, Chris King, Burnham.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at sports@villagesoup.com.