Midcoast student-athletes were well represented on the basketball court this winter and were recognized as such by Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B with all-conference and all-academic awards, including one local youngster who again has earned the conference’s highest honor.

Camden Hills’ Tyler McFarland won player-of-the-year honors for boys basketball for the second straight season, while teammate Keegan Pieri and schoolmate Jordan Knowlton also took home first-team selections. Medomak Valley also was well represented, with John Murray, Alanna Vose, Ericka Christensen and Lindsay Ranquist all nabbing second-team all-conference awards.

The awards were announced during the KVAC Class B championship games Feb. 12 at Cony High School in Augusta, with the Windjammer and Panther boys and Panther girls all participating in league title contests.

The local student-athletes who were named KVAC all-conference and all-academic (seniors with a 90-or-higher grade-point average during their high school careers) were:

Boys first-team all-conference — McFarland and Pieri of Camden Hills; Jordan Hersom of Leavitt; Chris Braley of Nokomis; and Mike McCann of Winslow.

Boys second-team all-conference — Murray of Medomak Valley; Aarom Toman and Mike Trahan of Gardiner; Lucas Witham of Leavitt; and Justin Murray of Winslow.

Boys player of the year — McFarland of Camden Hills.

Boys coach of the year — Jason Cassidy of Gardiner.

Boys all-academic — Brad Reed of Belfast; Nate Catell, Adam Landwehr, McFarland and Pieri of Camden Hills; Spencer Allen, Isaac Luken, Kaleb Smith and Trahan of Gardiner; Devin Long and Witham of Leavitt; Kevin McGrady of Maine Central Institute; Harry Lanphear of Maranacook; Isaac Durkee and Quinton Vannah of Medomak Valley; Colby Blanchard and Zach Mehuren of Mount View; Brian Bradstreet and Cam Morin of Oak Hill; Ryan Veilleux of Waterville; and Mike McCann and Kody Price of Winslow.

Girls first-team all-conference — Knowlton of Camden Hills; Courtney Anderson and Kristen Anderson of Leavitt; Julie Smith of Nokomis; and Maggie Sabine of Oak Hill.

Girls second-team all-conference — Christensen, Ranquist and Vose of Medomak Valley; Marissa Shaw of Nokomis; and Liz Ferry of Winslow.

Girls player of the year — Sabine of Oak Hill.

Girls coach of the year — Mike Gray of Gardiner.

Girls all-academic — Liz Rauch of Belfast; Maci Heal of Camden Hills; Courtney Anderson and Abbey Randall of Leavitt; Katherine Bolster, Emma Lazzari and Anna Budrow of Lincoln Academy; Meghan Hughes of Maine Central Institute; Nicole Weaver and Roxanne Jelenfy of Medomak Valley; Hayleigh Kein, Christine Larrabee and Channing Murphy of Mount View; Stephanie Stone of Nokomis; Kylee Gardiner, Emily Karter and Jen Smith of Waterville; and Kylee Risinger of Winslow.


VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by e-mail at sports@villagesoup.com.