On Thursday, May 26, Waldo County Technical Center inducted 13 deserving students into its chapter of National Technical Honor Society, which recognizes the demands met by students pursuing career and technical programs. The ceremony was held at the University of Maine — Hutchinson Center.

Tony Bagley, WCTC cooperative board member, former student at WCTC and Viking Lumber Dispatcher, was the guest speaker.

An induction ceremony included a candle lighting, pledge and distribution of pins, stoles and certificates. A unique feature of the ceremony is that the honorees receive their stoles from their program instructors. By receiving their honor society stoles from their instructor, it makes the ceremony a bit more meaningful for the honorees.

The instructors recommended the students for induction and helped develop the skill and knowledge for which they were honored. WCTC instructors are delighted to see their students honored for their hard work and dedication to the technical fields.

New inductees were: Moriah Cilley, Destiny Colford, Emily Frost, Jessica Gaouette, Travis Hegstrom, Tyler Hills, Theodore Lawrence, Arthur Leighton, Hannah Patterson, Siera Slamin, Kendra Strickland, Alex Webster and Lyndon Whitcomb.

Current members include: Amber Gum, Robert Powell, Andrea Proctor and Kelli Smith.