Due to the impending storm and in the interest of the safety of the staff and students, all Regional School Unit 20 schools will be canceling their opening of school previously scheduled for Monday, Aug. 29.

The opening day of school will now be held Tuesday, Aug. 30, with classes for grades 1-9 only, and orientation for grade 6. Classes for all will begin on Wednesday, Aug. 31.

RSU 20 includes schools in Belfast, Belmont, Frankfort, Morrill, Northport, Searsmont, Searsport, Stockton Springs and Swanville.

RSU 3, which includes the towns of Brooks, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Liberty, Monroe, Montville, Thorndike, Troy, Unity and Waldo, is still planning on having school Aug. 29. If school is to be canceled, notifications will be made that morning using the usual local radio, television stations, district website, and the AlertNow system for notifications.