Dylan Turner of Freedom nailed down the most important win of his short career with a victory in the Big John 59 Late Model race Saturday night at Unity Raceway. The race was held in memory of multi-time, multi-track champion “Big John” Phippen of Town Hill, who died last summer.

Turner, a third-generation racer and recent high school graduate, charged back into contention after an altercation, while swapping the lead with Josh St.Clair of Liberty went awry with a handful of laps remaining in the event. That crash, which also eliminated David “Deuce” Folsom II of Skowhegan after he had spent virtually the entire distance in second or third position, handed the lead to Cassius Clark of Farmington.

Clark, who missed the heat race and driver’s meeting while his team retreated to its nearby race shop to change an engine after a practice failure, ran afoul of the stated restart policy and was sent to the end of the lead lap cars. Ben Clark got to lead a lap before he, too, was penalized for the same violation. Chuck LaChance of Cushing inherited the lead for a restart with four laps remaining.

Young Turner charged into the lead as the late-race green flag appeared and outran Cassius Clark to the checkered flag. St. Clair, who led 47 of the first 53 laps before his aforementioned incident involving Turner, rebounded to finish in third position. LaChance held on to cross the line fourth under the checkered flag. Danny Smart of Buxton rounded out the top five.

Through the efforts of Wally Gibbons and others, about $3,500 in bonus money was paid to competitors in the Big John 59, with St. Clair’s third-place disappointment softened to the tune of about $1,450 to top the list. Deuce Folsom ($570), winner Turner ($530) and Justin Drake ($470) led a half-dozen others in bonus award earnings.

St. Clair, Drake and Turner won heat races.

Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro nailed down his first feature victory in the Keystone Automotive Wildcat Division, leading the entire 25-lap race while being pursued by the division’s top runners. Behind Sleeper the best of the rest was reigning division champion Chris King, who prevailed in a race-long duel for runner-up honors with multi-time champion, and fellow Burnham resident, Carl McAlpine. Points leader Maurice Young of Chelsea was close behind in fourth, with Kris Matchett of Skowhegan rounding out the top five. Young won the heat race.

Points leader Lance Chapman of Benton got by early leader Steve Rackliff of Starks, then held off Tim Robinson of Clinton to win the Late Model Pro Four main event. Rackliff followed Chapman and Robinson under the checkered flag. Bryan Lancaster of Skowhegan and Bill Ellis of Parkman rounded out the top five. Chapman won the heat race.

Tim Robinson of Clinton swapped the lead several times with points leader Zach Audet of Skowhegan en route to a thrilling victory in the Monster Mini feature race. Audet chased Robinson under the checkered flag, with Richard Jackson of Hudson finishing strong in third position. Early race leader Greg Cummings of Augusta hung on for a fourth-place finish, in front of Tim Collins of Farmindale. Audet won the heat race.

Cole Robinson of Clinton outran younger brother Kyle Robinson to claim victory in the Flyin’ 4 Division feature. Kyle Robinson raced the main event in a borrowed car after a hard wreck in the heat race sidelined his regular ride. Nate Tribbett of Pittston picked up his second consecutive third-place trophy. Bob Gerard of Vassalboro and Mika Wilson of Chelsea rounded out the top five.

Chad Folsom won again in the six-cylinder Challenger Division main event, but the Skowhegan racer survived one of his best tests yet. Chad Williamson of Skowhegan traded the lead with Folsom on a couple of occasions late in the race, settling for a close runner-up finish. Eric Peavey of Clinton claimed third-place hardware, with the top five rundown filled out by Waterville racers Dan Lambert and Ken Lord.

Kyle Jackson of Fairfield charged to the front and got by early-race leader and eventual runner-up April McAlpine of Burnham, then drove to his first feature victory in the Teen Thunder class. Derek Pariseau of Brooks was third under the checkered flag. Wes Turner of Montville bounced back from early-race troubles to finish third, ahead of Kamren Knowles of Readfield.

Kerlsey Santos of Waterville was a first-time winner in the four-cylinder race, outrunning the previous week’s winner, Christie Foster of Norridgewock, to the checkered flag.

The individual race results were:

Late Model Big John 59 (59 laps) — 1, Dylan Turner, Freedom; 2, Cassius Clark, Farmington; 3, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 4, Chuck LaChance, Cushing; 5, Danny Smart, Buxton; 6, David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 7, Scott Pooler, Vassalboro; 8, Criag Robbins, Montville; 9, Ben Clark, Clinton; 10, Tim Turner, Freedom; 11, Justin Drake, Burnham; 12, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 13, Dave St. Clair, Liberty; 14, Puncin St. Clair, Liberty; 15, David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 16, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 17, John Rideout, Washington; 18, Rick Morse, St. Albans; 19, Nick Huff, Orrington; 20, Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 21, Tim Reynolds, Bradley; 22, Brian Whitney, Burnham; 23, Jeff Burgess, East Madison; and 24, Ajay Picard, Palmyra.

Wildcat (25 laps) — 1, Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 2, Chris King, Burnham; 3, Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 4, Maurice Young, Chelsea; 5, Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 6, Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; and 7, Tyler Ring, Detroit.

Late Model Pro Four (20 laps) — 1, Lance Chapman, Benton; 2, Tim Robinson, Clinton; 3, Steve Rackliff, Starks; 4, Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 5, Bill Ellis, Parkman; and 6. Alex Fernald, Benton.

Monster Mini (15 laps) — 1, Tim Robinson, Clinton; 2, Zach Audet, Clinton; 3, Richard Jackson, Hudson; 4, Greg Cummings, Augusta; 5, Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 6, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 7, Paul Shorrette, Vassalboro; 8, Norm Cummings Jr., Augusta; and 9, Mike Wilson, Chelsea.

Flyin’ 4 (15 laps) — 1, Cole Robinson, Clinton; 2, Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 3, Nate Tribbett, Pittston; 4, Bob Gerard, Vassalboro; and 5, Mika Wilson, Chelsea.

Challenger — 1, Chad Folsom, Skowhegan; 2, Cody Williamson, Skowhegan; 3, Eric Peavey, Clinton; 4, Dan Lambert, Waterville; 5, Ken Lord, Waterville; 6, Mike Stowe, Waterville; 7, Alden Corson, Canaan; 8, Henry Boudreau, Bristol; 9, Nick Jackson, Fairfield; 10, Sandy Macomber, West Gardiner; 11, Sandy Gagnon, Clinton; 12, Ken Bosse, Whitefield; 13, Troy Rusconi, Clinton; 14, Samantha Farnham, Benton; and 15, Louie Stillman, Clinton.

Teen Thunder (15 laps) — 1, Kyle Jackson, Fairfield; 2, April McAlpine, Burnham; 3, Derek Pariseau, Brooks; 4, Wes Turner, Montville; 5, Kamren Knowles, Pittsfield; 6, Austin Clemons, Norridgewock; 7, Nick Stowe, Waterville; 8, Cody Robbins, Montville; 9, Emily McAlpine, Burnham; and 10, Colby Robbins, Montville.

Enduro — 1. Kerlsey Santos, Waterville; 2. Christie Foster, Norridgewock; 3. Josh Switzer, Woonsocket, R.I., 4. 4 Josh Spencer; and 5. Brandi Jackson, Augusta.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at sports@villagesoup.com.