Ava Smith of Belfast is among the six students of the School of Robinson Ballet who have received the 2011 Ralph Robinson Dance Scholarship. The other students are Lorna Harriman, Sarah Bishop, Rachel Caron, Elise Lichtenberg and Alex Michaud.

Recipients must have been (or currently be) a Robinson Ballet dancer and plan to attend a four-year accredited academic institution as a full-time student. Scholarship monies may be used towards books, tuition, travel or room and board.

Since its inception in 2006, the Ralph Robinson Ballet Scholarship has awarded monies to 15 students totaling $11,000.00. Monies to fund the Ralph Robinson Dance Scholarship come from private and corporate donations and through the hard work of the Friends of Robinson Ballet organization. The School of Robinson Ballet is a not-for-profit 501c3.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by email to dernest@villagesoup.com.