On Friday, Dec. 2 from 5 to 7 p.m.. Åarhus Gallery will host an evening of chocolate tasting, browsing music and conviviality. On the walls is the jam-packed annul Holiday Extravaganza show of smaller artworks and a wide range of creative crafts priced with gift giving in mind.

More than 70 talented Maine artists from throughout the Midcoast and beyond are represented in a dazzling variety of media. Dean’s Sweets, makers of delicious hand-dipped truffles and chocolate bars and winner of a 2011 Best of Portland Award, will provide samples of its chocolates as the hip solo piano of Tom Luther calms the mind. Luther offers original compositions, classical and other urbane razzamatazz, a perfect complement to such Dean’s Sweets treats as Sea Salt Caramel truffles and new chocolate bars including Brandied Orange Peel, Mocha Latte and Maine Potato Chip.

The Holiday Extravaganza includes pottery, poetry and painting, collage, etching and photography, woodblock prints, turned wood, felted and knitted fiber works, assemblage, cards, calendars, ornaments, glass plate images of Maine, jewelry, music and more. Artists include Vincent Abaldo, Katia Ancona, Suzanne Anderson, Jes Anthonis, Bernice Arthur, Kate Bauman, Dan Beckman, Jolene Bryant, Phyllis Buchanan, Michael Buckley, Nancy Buckley, Linda Buckmaster, Anne-Claude Cotty, Mj Viano Crowe, Heidi Daub, Bill Davis, Dean’s Sweets, James Deane, Liz Deane, Gabriella D’Italia, Ingrid Ellison, Carole Ann Fer, Sallie Findlay, Kathleen Newton Foote, Annadeene Fowler, George Fowler, Free Seedlings Band, Elizabeth Garber, Harold Garde, Carol Gater, Edith Gawler and Bennett Konesni, Gawler Sisters, Jay Gibson, Ellen Goldsmith, Frances Hodsdon, David Jacobson, Jeffrey Jelenfy, Karen Jelenfy, Kevin Johnson, Jody Johnstone, Judd Jones, Paul Jurutka, Mia Kanazawa, Mark Kelly, Michelle Kelly, A. C. Kulik, Valerie Lawson, Betsy Levine, Joel Lipman, Carol Logie, Richard Mann, Barbara Maria, John McAlevey, Kate McLeod, Holly Meade, Cathy Melio, Jonathan Mess, Metaphor Bronze, The Montville Project, Hanako Nakazato, Nire Art, Novel Jazz, Petrea Noyes, Toki Oshima, Leila Ostby, Ben Potter, Rebekah Raye, Abbie Read, Wesley Reddick, Willy Reddick, R. Keith Rendall, Judy Rock, Betty Schopmeyer, Erin Seegers, Lesia Sochor, Karin Spitfire, Prairie Stuart-Wolff, Sarah Szwajkos, Tandem Glass, Ieva Tatarsky, Mary Trotochaud, Troy Howard Middle School Garden Project, Nance Trueworthy, Larry Unger, Walter Ungerer, Simon van der Ven, Glen Veevaert, John Vincent, Ellen Wieske, J. Fred Woell and Seth and Tyler Yentes.

Åarhus Gallery, 50 Main St., is open Tuesdays through Sundays from 11 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. —Fridays to 7 p.m. — and Mondays by chance. The gallery will close at 3 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 24. Hours will be posted for the late winter and spring seasons. For more information and links to artists, visit aarhusgallery.com or call 338-0001 during business hours.

VillageSoup Art/Entertainment Editor Dagney Ernest can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by email to dernest@villagesoup.com.