The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class A and B cheering championships went off without a hitch Monday at the Augusta Civic Center, with 24 teams across two classes vying for two conference titles.

Mount View, led by coach Carol Bryant, did not bring home the coveted crown, but instead were forced to rework much of their routine late in the week due to a pair of injuries to key contributors.

Bryant said the Mustangs lost Jazlyn Ingraham and Makayla McCormick during the week due to different injuries, and both are questionable to return for the Eastern Class B championships Saturday, Jan. 28 at the Bangor Auditorium. McCormick was one of the team’s flyers, thus the squad was forced “to change over 50 percent of our stunts,” said the Mount View coach.

Leavitt of Turner finished first in Class B with Medomak Valley of Waldoboro second, while Lewiston nabbed the Class A crown and Bangor finished second.

Bryant said the Mustangs’ focus over the next two weeks will be “just working on the stunts and timing with the new lineup,” which the team had only two practices prior to Monday’s competition to prepare.

The KVAC Class B team scores were: 1, Leavitt, 130.9; 2, Medomak Valley, 116.8; 3, Waterville, 105.8; 4, Morse of Bath, 104.3; 5, Nokomis of Newport, 103.9; 6, Gardiner, 101.9; 7, Oak Hill of Sabattus, 101.2; 8, Winslow, 98.2; 9, Oceanside of Rockland/Thomaston, 90.8; 10, Mount View, 89.7; 11, Lincoln Academy of Newcastle, 84.7; and 12, Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield, 72.7.

The KVAC Class A team scores were: 1, Lewiston, 150.8; 2, Bangor, 147.8; 3, Hampden Academy, 124.4; 4, Lawrence of Fairfield, 110.7; 5, Mount Blue of Farmington, 109.4; 6, Edward Little of Aubrn, 105.6; 7, Cony, 102; 8, Oxford Hills of South Paris, 100.4; 9, Mount Ararat of Topsham, 99.4; 10, Brewer, 98.6; 11, Erskine Academy of South China, 91.4; and 12, Brunswick, 90.2.

Winners of the Jamie Beth Shible award, presented annually to the squads who display the most improvement from the previous year, went to Cony of Augusta in Class A and Nokomis of Newport in Class B.

Team members for Mount View include Christina Dimmitt, Dani Lafabvre, McCormick, Alyss Crooker, Lindsey Lizotte, Katie Ross, Danielle Dodge, Siiri Pinkham, Mariah Ross, Amanda Schiessl, Britni Bryant, Ingraham and Rochelle Porter.

VillageSoup sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at