The Belfast and Mount View wrestling squads realized a measure of success at the team and individual levels during Saturday’s Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference championship meet, including watching one Lion return home with a crown.

The Lions finished fifth and Mustangs of Thorndike 15th in the league championships at Cony High School. The meet was won by Camden Hills.

Belfast’s Brent Waterman pinned down the 132-pound title, while teammate Peter Kelley finished third at 195. For Mount View, Tyler Stevenson placed third at 220 pounds and was the top Mustang finisher.

The Lions will compete in the Eastern Class B championships on Saturday, Feb. 11 at Medomak Valley High School in Waldoboro and the state Class B tournament on Saturday, Feb. 18 at Fryeburg Academy.

The Mustangs will compete in the Western Class C championships on Saturday, Feb. 11 at Bucksport High School and the state Class C meet on Saturday, Feb. 18, also at Fryeburg Academy. In the past, Mount View has competed in Class B meets.

The league championship team scores were: Camden Hills 259, Cony of Augusta 136, Mount Blue of Farmington 135, Skowhegan 103.5, Belfast 74.5, Nokomis of Newport 65, Gardiner 57.5, Erskine Academy of South China 54.5, Morse of Bath 52, Mount Ararat of Topsham 51.5, Oxford Hills of South Paris 51, Medomak Valley 47, Brewer 44, Winslow 39, Mount View 36.5, Brunswick 26, Edward Little of Auburn 23.5, Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield 17, Lincoln Academy of Newcastle 13 and Oak Hill of Sabattus 5.

The individual Belfast and Mount View results from the KVAC meet included:

106 pounds — Alec Young, Bel, lost to Kyle Bonti, Mor, 7-5; received a second-round bye; and lost to Robbie Hamburger, Nok, 6-2.

James Blanchette, MtV, was pinned by Hamburger, Nok, at 4:48; won by technical fall over Chantelle Miller, Con, 15-0; pinned Bonti, Mor, at 1:47; and was pinned by Dylan Dahlberg, MCI, at 4:14.

120 pounds — Brandon Waterman, Bel, pinned Morgan Achorn, LA, at 4:20; was pinned by Khalil Newbill, MtB, at 3:57; pinned Brooke Brann, Gard, at 1:40; pinned Dylan Harrington, Mor, at 4:31; and was pinned by Mark Smith, Brew, at 4:07.

126 pounds — Walker Roberts, Bel, won by major decision over Matt Wheeler, MtV, 12-1; was pinned by Calan Bragg, CH, at 1:02; pinned Levi Yeaton, MtA, at 1:58; won by major decision over Zack O’Connor, Win, 15-4; and was pinned by Jonathan Crocker, Nok, at 4:28.

Wheeler, MtV, lost by major decision to Roberts, Bel, 12-1; pinned Brian Jones, Brew, at 2:25; and was pinned by Joe York, EA, at 2:39.

132 pounds — Brent Waterman, Bel, won by technical fall over Miranda Achorn, LA, 15-0; pinned Roger Flannery, MtV, at 2:46; pinned Connor Dufour, Con, at 3:15; and beat Coleman Powers, CH, 7-1 in the championship final. Waterman finished first.

Flannery, MtV, received a first-round bye; was pinned by Brent Waterman, Bel, at 2:46; pinned Matt Martin, Nok, at 3:49; and was pinned by Felipe Gunter, MtA, at 3:49.

138 pounds — Curtis Warren, Bel, pinned Britin Kramer, OaH, at 2:15; was pinned by Drew Blanchet, MtB, at 3:04; pinned River Massey, MCI, at 3:21; and was pinned by Mark Dolloff, MtV, at 3:51.

Dolloff, MtV, pinned Jon Higgins, OxH, at 0:44; was pinned by Kaleb Brown, Skow, at 3:45; pinned Michael Maybury, Brew, at 3:49; pinned Warren, Bel, at 3:51; and lost to Max Bryant, CH, 7-6.

145 pounds — Scott Vaillancourt, MtV, was pinned by Nick Hickey, MtB, at 1:44; received a second-round bye; and was pinned by Robert Soohey, EA, at 0:35.

152 pounds — Daniel Weiss, Bel, pinned Stephen Soohey, EA, at 1:02; was pinned by Jared Jensen, Brun, at 0:42; pinned Josh King, Nok, at 1:11; beat Chris Ingram, MtB, 6-5; and was pinned by Wyatt Thornton, Gard, at 1:41.

Joel Poulin, MtV, was pinned by Malik Geiger, OxH, at 1:16; received a second-round bye; and was pinned by Joe Burr, MtA, at 2:56.

160 pounds — Austin Sprague, Bel, was pinned by Cody Geroux, Con, at 2:42; beat Jeff Merrill, OxH; and lost by technical fall to Jack Hauprich, CH, 16-1.

182 pounds — Jared Vaughn, Bel, received a first-round bye; was pinned by Anthony Batty, CH, at 0:51; received a third-round bye; and was pinned by Jake Fraser, Con, at 0:51.

Gavin Caler, MtV, was pinned by Fraser, Con, at 2:58; received a second-round bye; and was pinned by Tyler Sennick, MtB, at 0:16.

195 pounds — Kelley, Bel, received a first-round bye; beat Nic Benner, Con, 5-2; lost to Victor Irwin, Brew, 6-2; pinned Mitchell Chesley, Gard, at 1:49; and won by injury default over Andrew Pineo, Skow, in the consolation final. Kelley finished third.

Jordan Fowler, MtV, received a first-round bye; was pinned by Irwin, Brew, at 0:30; and was pinned by Brair Bussell, MCI, at 1:54.

220 pounds — Stevenson, MtV, was pinned Raymond Clark, MtB, at 3:45; pinned Seth Wilcox, MCI, at 0:08; won by forfeit over Cody Dular, Con; and pinned Justin Cummings, OxH, at 3:33 in the consolation final. Stevenson finished third.

285 pounds — Clint Spaulding, MtV, was pinned by Dustin Edwards, OxH, at 1:39; received a second-round bye; and lost to Jacob Nichols, Nok, 10-6.

Village NetMedia Sports Director Ken Waltz can be reached at 207-594-4401 or by email at