Eight teams from throughout the Midcoast and beyond took to the hardwood over the weekend for the Rockland Recreation Department’s annual invitational boys basketball tournament, with each squad looking to lay claim as the weekend’s best participant.

When the dust settled on the weekend-long tournament, it was Boothbay Region YMCA which shot itself to the tournament championship.

Teams competing in the tourney including Rockland Rec., Mount View, Downeast YMCA, Boothbay Region YMCA, Medomak Valley, Hall-Dale, Maranacook and St. George.

Rockland Rec. dispatched of St. George in the first round and then went on to defeat Medomak Valley, setting up the first of what proved to be two showdowns between Rockland Rec. and Boothbay YMCA.

Boothbay YMCA downed Rockland Rec., sending it to the loser’s bracket, where the hosts defeated Hall-Dale to advance to the finals. Boothbay YMCA then defeated Rockland Rec. for the second time to the tournament title.

Rockland Rec. went 3-2 in the tourney, while Medomak Valley finished 2-2 and St. George 0-2 for local squads.

Boothbay YMCA went 4-0 during the tourney, defeating their opponents by an average of 15 points. Boothbay YMCA defeated Mount View 42-27, upended Maranacook 34-26, defeated Rockland 62-58 in overtime and then put the locals away in the finals with a decisive 60-27 win to clinch the tournament crown.

Team members for the tournament champions from Boothbay YMCA were Kyle Ames, Cameron Alley, Hunter Arsenault, Hayden Brewer, Graham Bryer, Sam Burnham, Cameron Crocker, Eli Gudroe, Jay Hasch and Nick Simpson. The team was coached by Kevin Ames and Angel Ames.

Team members for Rockland Rec. included Trevor Carty, Austin Charkowick, Dustin Cote, Nick Crudell, Jacob Curtis, Hunter Davis, Zach Hersey, Kirt Ilvonen, Jaden Martin, Mike Norton Jr., Jason Reese, Logan Sheridan and Cole Stevens. The team was coached by Danny Picard and Mike Norton.

Team members for Medomak Valley included Brent Stewart, Jensen Willis, Brett Collamore, Wyatt Post, John Luce, Ben Dever, Josh Goldrup and Colin Fournier. The team was coached by Darrell Goldrup.

Team members for St. George included Trevor Lawry, Nick Upham, Nick Dodd, John Curtin, Amos Anderson, Cody Ward, Silas Miller, Garrett Young, Zachary Porter, Alex McLaughlin, Isaiah Millay, Aiden Andrews and Michael Mcgeady. The team was coached by Terry Lawry and Matt Shields.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at sports@villagesoup.com.