The Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife announced the formation of three public working groups designed to examine issues concerning brook trout, landlocked salmon and bass.

These groups, comprised of members of the public, will review issues related to fish populations, fishing regulations and biological management. The working groups are led by IFW’s fisheries division director, and they will assist the department in gathering public opinion, increasing public interest and formulating fisheries management efforts.

Public involvement is key to gathering information concerning angler’s needs, fish population levels, reviewing regulations and developing management recommendations for the department.

Members appointed to the groups come from diverse fisheries backgrounds and they represent a wide range of perspectives. The diverse views of the group are important in developing management plans, reviewing regulations and developing policy.

Member of the public who also wish to provide their input concerning brook trout, landlocked salmon and bass can do so by contacting fisheries division director Michael Brown by email at

Members of the brook trout group include Gary Corson of New Sharon, John Whalen of Canaan, Matt Libby of Ashland, Ted Koffman of Falmouth, Dan Tarkinson of Portland, Dave Allen of T8 R11, and Bonnie Holding of Stratton.

The landlocked salmon group includes Dennis Smith of Mount Desert Island, Larry Farrington of Greenville, Larry Fiori of Kennebunk, Bruce Steeves of Raymond, Dennis Bolduc of Oakland, Tenley Bennett of Eagle Lake, and John Ouellette of Madawaska.

The bass group is comprised of Andy Wess of Augusta, William Schwarz of Windham, Don Kleiner of Union, Carl Bois of Lovell, J. R. Mabee of Grand Lake Stream and Ken Hoehlein of Trenton.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at