Brian Whitney of Burnham added another extra-distance main event first-place trophy to his collection, outgunning reigning track champion Jeff Burgess of Fairfield in the 52-lap Late Model Division main event on opening day April 21 at Unity Raceway.

Whitney and Burgess swapped the race lead, and a little bit of paint, a couple of times during the closing laps in a competitive feature race highlighting the first stock car racing card in Maine this season.

Whitney, who has been most successful in extra-distance event in recent seasons at Unity, led the majority of the race, first battling Palmyra racer Ajay Picard for supremacy.

Late in the event Whitney had not only the reigning track kingpin challenging, but the returning prodigy breathing down his tailpipes as well. Three-time Unity Raceway champion Frank Moulton of Burnham, who took a year off from competition at Maine’s “toughest racing oval,” was in the mix as the laps wound down, eventually settling for a third-place finish behind Whitney and Burgess.

Early contender Picard held on to post a fourth-place finish. Mike Orr or Wiscasset rounded out the top five. Main event winner Whitney also scored a heat race victory earlier in the afternoon.

Mathew Burgoine of Newport led wire-to-wire in the NELCAR Legends Cars 25-lap event. He was challenged throughout the main event by Manchester teen Reid Lanpher, who claimed runner-up honors in front of another fast-closing youngster, Kevin Hutchens of East Waterboro. Alan Smith of Lincoln crossed the finish line in fourth position, with Bobby Weymouth of Topsham rounding out the top five. Burgoine and Lanpher won the heat races.

Brian Robbins of Montville cruised to an easy victory in the 25-lap Wildcat feature event. Ed Gilblair of Skowhegan was a distant second-place finisher, with Brandon Bourne of East Wakefield, N.H. claiming the final trophy position. Brent “Poochie” Chase of Burnham spent much of the event in second position before mechanical woes relegated him to a fourth-place finish. Robbins also won the heat race.

Multi-time Late Model Pro Four Division champion Steve Rackliff of Starks claimed victory in his return to full-time competition in the class, but Bryan Lancaster of Skowhegan made sure it was not easy. Rackliff and Lancaster swapped the lead on late-race restarts, and Lancaster kept the pressure on Rackliff until the checkered flag, to earn runner-up honors.

Alex Fernald of Benton filled out the podium positions after the car owners for apparent third-place finisher Kevin Douglass of Sidney refused a post-race technical inspection. Jimmy Dennis of Benton and Dylan Lancaster of Skowhegan rounded out the top five. Rakliff won the heat race.

Reigning division champion Zach Audet of Skowhegan led wire-to-wire in the 25-lap Monster Mini main event. Tim Collins of Farmington prevailed in an intense battle for runner-up honors, just ahead of multi-time class champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea. Clinton teen Cole Robinson made his debut in the division an impressive one, claiming a fourth-place finish. Matt Shaw of Burnham rounded out the top five. Audet won the heat race.

Young Cody Robbins of Oakland posted his first Unity Raceway victory in an extremely-competitive 20-lap Flyin’ 4 Division feature race. The event featured several lead changes among the eventual top-four finishers. Newlywed Mika Stover, formerly known as Mika Wilson, was in second position as the checkered flag waved, with George Fernald III of Benton next across the stripe. Kayla Allen of Penobscot was in contention throughout the race and claimed a fourth-place finish. Kersey Santos of Waterville rounded out the top five. Robbins won the heat race.

Veteran Ken Lord of Waterville outdueled teammate Robert MacDonald of Oakland to claim victory in the 25-lap Challenger Division finale. Mike Flagg of Montville wheeled a mini-van to an impressive third-place finish, in front of Mike Stowe of Waterville, and Christie Foster of Skowhegan. MacDonald won the heat race.

Racing resumes Saturday, April 28 at 1 p.m., with afternoon events scheduled until night racing kicks off on Memorial Day Weekend. For more information, call 453-2021 or visit online at

The individual race results from April 21 included:

Late Model (52 laps) — 1, Brian Whitney, Burnham; 2, Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 3, Frank Moulton, Burnham; 4, Ajay Picard, Palmyra; 5, Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 6, Dylan Turner, Freedom; 7, Mike Landry, Oakland; 8, Will Collins, Waldoboro; and 9, James Osmond, Wiscasset.

NELCAR Legends Cars (25 laps) — 1, Mathew Burgoine, Newport; 2, Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 3, Kevin Hutchens, East Waterboro; 4, Alan Smith, Lincoln; 5, Bobby Weymouth, Topsham; 6, Evan Beaulieu, Durham; 7, Steve Fox, Durham; 8, Ed Getty, Gray; 9, Ryan Hammar, Pembroke, N.H.; 10, Terry Kirk, Durham; 11, Dan Winter, Windham, N.H.; 12, Matt Grant, Windham; 13, Matt Chagnot, Derry, N.H.; 14, Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth; 15, Pete Cannell, South Berwick; and 16, Charlie Buxton, Windham.

Wildcat (25 laps) — 1, Bryan Robbins, Montville; 2, Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 3, Brandon Bourne, East Wakefield, N.H.; and 4, Brent Chase, Burnham.

Late Model Pro Four (25 laps) — 1, Steve Rackliff, Starks; 2, Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 3, Alex Fernald, Benton; 4, Jimmy Dennis, Benton; 5, Dylan Lancaster, Skowhegan; and 6, Norm Cummings Jr., Augusta.

Monster Mini (25 laps) — 1, Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2, Tim Collins, Farmington; 3, Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 4, Cole Robinson, Clinton; 5, Matt Shaw, Burnham; 6, Michael Bolduc, Windsor; 7, Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 8, Paul Jackson, Fairfield; and 9, Brent Roy, Vassalboro

Flyin’ 4 (20 laps) — 1, Cody Robbins, Oakland; 2, Mika Stover, Augusta; 3, George Fernald III, Benton; 4, Kayla Allen, Penobscot; 5, Kerlsyl Santos, Waterville; 6, Nate Tribbett, Richmond; 7, Samantha Farnham, Benton; and 8, Alica Goodwin, Clinton.

Challenger (25 laps) — 1, Ken Lord, Waterville; 2, Robert MacDonald, Oakland; 3, Mike Flagg, Montville; 4, Mike Stowe, Waterville; 5, Christie Foster, Skowhegan; 6, Troy Rusconi, Clinton; and 7, Bob Corson, Benton.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at