Brian Whitney of Burnham became the first two-time feature race winner of the season in the top-tier Late Model Division may 12 at Unity Raceway.

Whitney led the 35-lap event from wire-to-wire, holding off challenges from reigning track champion Jeff Burgess of Fairfield on a late-race restart to seal the victory. Burgess earned runner-up honors, and remains atop the championship standings.

Ajay Picard of Palmyra finished an eventful day that included a wet, off-track excursion into the backstretch “moat” during the main event, and a heat race crash, with a third-place finish. Frank Moulton of Burnham rebounded from several pit stops to claim a fourth-place finish in front of Mark Dodge of Unity. Whitney also won the heat race.

Brent “Poochie” Chase of Burnham cruised to a comfortable victory in the 20-lap Wildcat Division main event. Ed Gilblair of Skowhegan was the best of the rest, with Joe Harriman of Liberty rounding out the podium finishing positions. George Fernald III made his Wildcat Division debut and posted a fourth-place finish. Ryan Robinson of Clinton was credited with a fifth-place finish. Chase won the heat race.

Tim Robinson of Clinton made his first start of the season aboard the Jimmy Dennis #38 and drove from dead last on the starting grid to victory lane in the 20-lap Late Model Pro Four Division feature race. Steve Rackliff of Starks rebounded from a mid-race spin to cross the finish line in second, with Alex Fernald of Benton grabbing the third-place trophy. Bill Ellis of Parkman and Benton rookie Scott Horne rounded out the top five. Norm Cummings Jr. of Augusta won the heat race, but fell victim to mechanical gremlins in the main event.

Defending champion Zach Audet of Skowhegan romped to victory in the 20-lap Monster Mini feature race after mechanical woes sidelined him about 200 feet from victory in the previous event, which he had also dominated. Cornville teenager Jayson Bosworth held off hard-charging veteran Tim Collins of Farmington for runner-up honors. Brent Roy of Vassalboro raced from the back of the pack to a fourth-place finish. Kyle Robinson of Clinton rounded out the top five. Audet won the heat race.

Cody Robbins of Oakland charged through the pack and made a last-lap move by Mike Dulaney of Richmond to earn a trip to victory lane following a thrilling, 20-lap Flyin’ 4 Division main event. Dulaney, who led most of the race, had to settle for runner-up honors. Paul Shorette of Waterville charged through traffic to earn his first trophy in a while with a third-place performance. Early race leader Mika Stover of Augusta ended up in fourth, followed by Clinton’s Alica Goodwin. Stover and Paul Jackson of Fairfield won heat races.

Challenger Division teammates Robert MacDonald of Oakland and Ken Lord of Waterville dominated the 25-lap feature, swapping the lead throughout the event with MacDonald nipping Lord at the checkered flag to nail down his second victory of the season. Christie Foster of Skowhegan was the best of the rest, earning a third-place finish in front of Ed Archer of Skowhegan and Mike Flagg of Montville. Lord won the heat race.

The first Saturday night racing card of the Unity Raceway season will be May 19 at 6 p.m. Weekly Saturday night competition continues on May 26, kicking off a doubleheader weekend highlighted by the Butch Burgess Memorial Race on Sunday, May 27 at 1 p.m. Unity Raceway is located on School Street (Route 139) in Unity. For more information, call 453-2021.

The official May 12 individual results included:

Late Model (35 laps) — 1. Brian Whitney, Burnham; 2. Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 3. Ajay Picard, Palmyra; 4. Frank Moulton, Burnham; 5. Mark Dodge, Unity; 6. Justin Drake, Burnham; and 7. Will Collins, Waldoboro.

Wildcat (20 laps) — 1. Brent Chase, Burnham; 2. Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 3. Joe Harriman, Liberty; 4. George Fernald III Benton; and 5. Ryan Robinson, Clinton.

Late Model Pro Four (20 laps) — 1. Tim Robinson, Clinton; 2. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 3. Alex Fernald, Benton; 4. Bill Ellis, Parkman; 5. Scott Horne, Benton; and 6. Norm Cumings Jr., Augusta.

Monster Mini (20 laps) — 1. Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 2. Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 3. Tim Collins, Farmington; 4. Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 5. Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 6. Matt Shaw, Burnham; 7. Michael Bolduc, Windsor; 8. Cole Robinson, Clinton.

Flyin’ 4 (20 laps) — 1. Cody Robbins, Oakland; 2. Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 3. Paul Shorette, Waterville; 4. Mika Stover, Augusta; 5. Alica Goodwin, Clinton; 6. Daymon Dodge, Troy, 7. Kerlsyl Santos, Waterville; 8. Samantha Farnham, Benton; 9. Henry Boudreau, Benton; 10. Jesse Glidden, Swanville; 11. Mike Mathieu, Oakland; 12. Kayla Allen, Penobscot; 13. Paul Jackson, Fairfield; and 14. Nate Tribbety, Richmond.

Challenger (25 laps) — 1. Robert MacDonald, Oakland; 2. Ken Lord, Waterville; 3. Christie Foster, Skowhegan; 4. Ed Archer, Skowhegan; 5. Mike Flagg, Montville; 6. Bob Corson, Benton; and 7. Troy Rusconi, Clinton.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at