The contest for for the Waldo County Commission District 2 seat had incumbent William Shorey, D-Searsport, winning re-election over challenger Andrew Cardinale, R-Swanville, by a vote of 3,657 to 2,683.

"I appreciate the voters in District 2 who have supported me in this election," Shorey said in an email. "I intend to work very hard to protect the interests of those voters and to see that taxes remain stable and the county remains debt-free."

District 2, which covers the towns of Frankfort, Jackson, Monroe, Prospect, Searsport, Stockton Springs, Swanville and Winterport, was one of two races for commissioner seats; however the District 3 seat was uncontested. Cardinale responded to the out come of the race Wednesday morning, Nov. 7.

"I congratulate Bill for running an honest and fair campaign. Commissioner Shorey is a fine man with integrity," Cardinale said in an email. "The citizens of Waldo County and the employees that serve the county are in good hands with Commissioners Shorey and Fowler re-elected for another four years, and I will support them and their efforts whenever they need me."

Incumbent District 3 Commissioner Amy Fowler, who ran unopposed, was re-elected, earning a total of 4,095 votes.

"It is both a privilege and pleasure serving for the fine folks of Waldo County," Fowler said in an email. "I feel the current board of commissioners has done an outstanding job at showing our fiscal responsibilities, finding cost savings and involving the public. We are a very dedicated and strong team and we look forward to continuing to find innovative and productive plans for the future."

All vote tallies are considered unofficial until they are ratified by the state.