The Noble Invitational is one of the state’s premier high school wrestling tournaments, with mat athletes throughout Maine and beyond able to showcase their talents in the prestigious event.

Belfast, perennially one of the state’s top mat programs, competed in the tourney Friday and Saturday, Dec. 28-29 at Noble High School. The Lions finished near the middle of the pack among the 41 competing squads.

The Lions amassed 59 team points to finish 17th, while Marshwood “A” of Eliot finished first with 244.5, besting host Noble “A” (201) by 43.5 points.

Senior Peter Kelley had the best individual performance of the day for the Lions, advancing nearly through his 220-pound bracket before being downed in the finals by Massabesic’s John Andrews to finish second.

The team scores were: Marshwood “A”, 244.5; Noble “A”, 201; Massabesic of Waterboro, 178; Skowhegan, 174.5; Camden Hills, 139.5; LaSalle of Wyndmoor, Pa., 139.5; Foxcroft Academy of Dover-Foxcroft, 121; Wells, 97; Mount Ararat of Topsham, 79; Mount Mansfield of Jericho, Vt., 77.5; Windham, 71; Gardiner, 70.5; Sanford, 66.5; Westbrook, 65.5; Mountain Valley of Rumford, 64; Mount Blue of Farmington, 63; Belfast, 59; Fryeburg Academy, 55.5; Bonny Eagle of Standish, 45; Spaulding of Rochester, N.H., 44; Noble “B”, 36; Lisbon of Lisbon Falls, 34.5; Sanborn, 31.5; Brunswick, 28; St. Thomas Aquinas, 26; Deering of Portland, 25; Foxcroft Academy “B”, 24; Greely of Cumberland, 24; Cheverus of Portland, 22; Marshwood “B”, 22; Marshwood “C”, 19; Noble “C”, 13; Scarborough, 6; Windham “B”, 5.5; Hall-Dale of Farmingdale, 5; Mount Ararat “B”, 4; Windham “C”, 3; St. Thomas Aquinas “B”, 3; and Gray-New Gloucster, Massabesic “B” and Scarborough “B” no score.

The individual Belfast results, with Lions listed first, were:

113 pounds — Matt Oxton received a first-round bye; was pinned by Peter DelGallo, Gar, at 0:13; received a bye; and was pinned by Dustin Chandler, BE, at 0:33.

120 pounds — Alec Young received a first-round bye; beat Ethan Trott, Noble “A”, 9-7; was pinned by Lucas Dion, Mass “A”, at 0:30; won by disqualification over Josh Lopez, West; and lost by major decision to Jake Thorton, MtV, 14-0.

126 pounds — Dagan Bereyni received a first-round bye; lost to Zach Sheehan, Frye, 6-2; pinned Cody Meehan, Deer, at 2:36; pinned Brandon Huntington, Wind, at 1:48; beat Brooks Law, FA, 2-1; and lost to Tyler Davidson, Marsh “A”, 6-4.

132 pounds — Brandon Waterman received a first-round bye; lost to Wyley Lessard, Noble “A”, 8-5; received a bye; beat Isaac Whittemore, FA, 5-2; pinned Sam Lapointe, Wells, at 3:03; and lost to Jon Stacy, Marsh “B”, 5-3.

138 pounds — Walker Roberts received a first-round bye; lost to Scott Kirkpatrick, West, 6-3; pinned David Carl, Noble “C”, at 4:15; and lost to Hunter Day, Frye, 6-4.

145 pounds — Mike McFadden received a first-round bye; was pinned by Kaleb Brown, Skow, at 2:17; pinned Josh Howard, STA “B”, at 1:45; and was pinned by Aaron Wolfgang, LaSalle, at 4:42.

152 pounds — Greg Stevens received a first-round bye; lost to Trevor Burns, Mass “A”, 9-4; received a bye; pinned Austin Boyle, Marsh “B”, at 5:52; and lost to Steve Cipolla, LaSalle, 6-5 in three overtimes.

160 pounds — John Capella received a first-round bye; was pinned by Ian Austin, MtV, at 1:11; and was pinned by Shammus McManus, Noble “C”, at 2:50.

170 pounds — Austin Sprague was pinned by Juan Alvarez, Noble “C”, at 3:31; received a bye; beat Bruce Hill, Mass “A”, 5-2; and lost to Jake Truman, Gar, 8-5.

182 pounds — Jared Hansen received a first-round bye; was pinned by Dan Lizotte, Marsh “A”, at 1:58; and was pinned by Sam Ezzy, Deer, at 2:54.

195 pounds — Wyatt Roberts, pinned Noah Lewis, Noble “B”, at 0:43; was pinned by Corey Bjornson, FA, at 2:26; and lost to Evan Drouin, Spauld, 4-3.

220 pounds — Kelley received a first-round bye; pinned Zach Reynolds, BE, at 5:14; pinned John Georges, LaSalle, at 5:00; beat Marc Surperant, Wells, 6-1; and was pinned by Josh Andrews, Mass “A”, at 5:02 in the championship final. Kelley finished second.

Courier Publications sports staff can be reached by phone at 207-594-4401 or by email at