Residents in Swanville voted Tuesday, Jan. 28, to officially begin the process to withdraw from Regional School Unit 20.

According to numbers provided by Town Clerk Helen Christianson, residents voted 59 in favor to 15 against to officially begin the withdrawal process.

The next step for the town is to form a withdrawal committee that includes a town official, a member of the petitioner's group, a member of the RSU 20 board of directors and a community member.

The group is charged with creating a plan to leave RSU 20.

Residents also authorized town officials to spend no more than $200 for costs related to the withdrawal effort.

As it now stands, Belfast, Belmont, Morrill, Northport, Searsmont and Swanville have begun the process of leaving RSU 20. Searsport and Stockton Springs residents have filed petitions with town officials to start the withdrawal process.

Searsport officials are looking at holding a vote to officially begin the withdrawal process March 4. Town officials in Stockton Springs have not yet set a date for their withdrawal vote.

State statute requires a public hearing be held at least 10 days prior to the date of the withdrawal vote.