The 2014 Maine Drama Festival one-act play competition’s regionals were held Friday and Saturday, March 7 and 8, at nine locations around the state. All but two of the participating Midcoast schools competing did so at the Midcoast Regional, hosted by Oceanside High School in Rockland. Competition was divided into student population-based divisions: Class A is for schools with 525 students or more; Class B is for smaller schools.

At the Midcoast Regional, host Oceanside won in Class A and Belfast Area High School was named Alternate. In Class B, Freeport High School won with Newcastle’s Lincoln Academy named Alternate.

Meanwhile, Searsport District High School and Thorndike’s Mount View High School competed at the Eastern Regional at Mount Desert Island High School Mt. View won and host MDI came in second; since this was an all-Class B regional, both will go to states.

As is the nature of live theater, there were small glitches along the way at the Midcoast Regional — a hat knocked off here, a mic malfunction there. And there were more unexpected surprises, as well. Waldoboro’s Medomak Valley High School (Class A) got a big laugh after an improvised line by an exiting audience "plant," while Kate Hodgson of Camden Hills Regional High School (Class A) did not get the last laugh as scripted because the director had to cut the play short to avoid a disqualifying time overrun. The other Midcoast troupe competing at Oceanside was North Haven Community School (Class B). As has become tradition, North Haven competed in the Saturday afternoon session so ferry-dependent islanders could attend

Midcoast school rankings, awards

Midcoast Regional judges’ rankings for the Class A high schools were: 1) Oceanside; 2) Belfast Area; 3) Ellsworth; 4) Camden Hills; and 5) Medomak Valley. Rankings for the Class B high schools were: 1) Freeport; 2) Lincoln Academy; 3) Wiscasset; and 4) North Haven Community School.

Oceanside’s “The Neverending Story” received Judges’ Commendations for Excellence for Small Ensemble Work for The Nothing Ensemble of Kasey Buretta, Preston Spear, Samantha Calamari, Zachary Dean, Riley Pillsbury, Zachary Roman, Grace Carias and Alden Mason; Special Commendation for Full Cast Ensemble for the cast; Excellence in Lighting Design and Operation for Philip Reinhardt & Zachary Peaco; Excellence in Scenic Design for Isaiah Stone-Patterson; and Excellence in Live Music Performance for percussionists Nicholas Barrett, Emily Protheroe, Krisandra McNichol and Ryan Calamari. Named to the All Festival Cast were Kaleb Robinson, Cole Chase, Jebadiah Fontaine, Jason Lund, Payton Billingsley, Sadie Bartlett, Molly Tobin and Cortney Simmons.

Belfast’s “The Beggar’s Opera” received Judges’ Commendations for Ensemble Acting Award for the entire cast; Lighting Design and Operation for Jessie Knight; and Sound Design and Operation for Brandon Richards. Named to the All Festival Cast were Autumn Stupca, Cameron Pillitteri, Hannah Lynam and Alyson Peabody.

Camden Hills’ “Something’s Rotten in the State of Denmark” received Judges’ Commendations for Excellence in Scenic Painting for Hannah Corney; and Excellence in Costumes for Savannah Berryman-Moore, Kate Rich and Anna Gambell. Named to the All Festival Cast were Jacob Corney, Jonah Carter and Nick Greer.

Medomak Valley’s “Dinner with the MacGuffins” received a Judges’ Commendation for Student Director for Jeannie Truman. Named to the All Festival Cast was Jacob Siegel.

North Haven’s “Overtones” saw Maddie Hallowell named to the All Festival Cast.

The Eastern Regional judges’ rankings for its all-Class B high schools were: 1) Mt. View; 2) Mount Desert Island; 3) Washington Academy; 4) George Stevens Academy; and 5) Deer Isle-Stonington.

Mt. View’s student-written adaptation “The Belfry” received Judges’ Commendations for Student Direction for Cay Outerbridge; Ensemble Acting for the entire cast; Costumes for Skye Siladi; and Lighting for Ben West, John Piotti and Cole Turner. Named to the All Festival Cast were Caleb Larabee and Jacki Nadeau.

Searsport’s “Pelleas and Melisande” was not ranked but received Judges’ Commendations for Original Music for MacKenzie Philbrook; and Set Design for Dana Wilson, Gimy Bokor, Ida Ericksson and Maddie Philbrick. Named to the All Festival Cast was Meghan Grant.

Regional winners will go on to the state finals, scheduled for Friday and Saturday, March 21 and 22, Class A at Camden Hills Regional High School in Rockport and Class B at Yarmouth High School. Alternates (i.e., second place finishers, with the exception of MDI) go to the finals should any of the first place schools be unable to.

More than 2,500 Maine high school students from 79 high schools competed; complete results from all regionals will be posted at some point Sunday, March 9, on the Maine Drama Council website.