Wiscasset Speedway's Late Model Sportsman Division again proved why it is the track's most exciting and competitive in 2014.

Coming into the holiday weekend, the class had turned out five different winners in the first five races. That streak of different winners continued after an action-packed, and caution-free, 35-lap feature Saturday, July 5.

Fans packed into the track on a beautiful night for a Independence Day weekend show featuring action in Group 2 divisions, including Late Models, Strictly Streets, Thunder 4 Minis and Mini Truck. The "Flex" race of the weekend was a 100-lap Enduro. Fans also got an opportunity to meet pro fisherman Troy Garrison.

The Thunder 4 Minis rolled out the spotlight feature of the night with a 30-lap feature race. Ryan Chadwick of Wiscasset took little time moving from his 10th starting position to grab the lead just before the halfway point of the race. From there he held off late-race challenges from Nate Tribbet and Cody Robbins to secure the win.

For Chadwick, it was his fifth feature win in the division's six races. He came into the weekend with a sizable lead in the points standings. Tribbet started outside the front row and rolled in second. That duo was joined by Cody Robbins who raced up from ninth to finish third.

The Mini Trucks had a straight forward 15-lap feature race with six drivers shooting for the win. The race was slowed by one caution as previous week's winner Matt Weil went spinning off turn four. While he did return to the race, he was not a factor. Matt Curtis of Freeport started on the outside of the front row. He quickly disposed of Jeff Schmidt, and then outraced points leader Jerry McKenna for the victory. For Curtis, it was his first Wiscasset victory and also made him the fourth different winner this season. They were joined in the top three by Kris Knox.

The 35-lap Late Model Sportsman feature saw Chris Thorne of Sidney lined up at the poll position and surrounded by the St. Clair family. He had veteran Dave "Boss Hogg" St. Clair line up behind him and brother's Ryan and Josh St. Clair alongside. Thorne quickly shook off the challenge and pulled out to a half straightaway advantage by the mid point. Thorne looked to become the division's first repeat winner of 2014.

Through the middle of the race Dave St. Clair settled into a good run and slowly started to reel in the race leader. After trying the outside of Thorne with 10 laps to go, Dave St. Clair switched things up and pulled to the inside of Thorne in turn three to take the lead. He went on to take the feature win by about four car lengths. For Dave St. Clair, it was his first win at Wiscasset in nearly 10 years.

Thorne held on to finish second and they were joined by Ryan St. Clair, who held off his brother Josh, as well as a hard-charging Chris Bowie, for third.

The 25-lap Strictly Street feature was slowed by a handful of cautions, including a back stretch wall hit and rollover by Shawn Rines on the first lap of the race. Rines was able to walk away from the wreck, but was later treated for soreness in his chest by track medical personnel.

Despite the restarts, nobody had a challenge for Dan Brown. He withstood challenges from Mike Brown and Zack Emerson, as well as Dave Brannon. For Dan Brown it was his second win of the season. Brannon finished second in the race, same as he did to Brown four weeks earlier. Zack Emerson started fifth and raced to third just ahead of Richard Spaulding. Spaulding started 16th and finished fourth. Not to be outdone, Mac Hannan Jr. raced from 18th up to fifth in his first Wiscasset appearance of the year.

The show wrapped with a 100-lap Enduro. The race had plenty of action and blown right front tires. In the end, it was a dominant performance by John Rines, winning the race by a three-lap advantage over Mike St. Germain and Roy Glidden.

The individual July 5 race results were:

Late Model Sportsman (35 laps) — 1, Dave St. Clair, Liberty; 2, Chris Thorne, Sidney; 3, Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 4, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 5, Chris Bowie, New Gloucester; 6, Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 7, Steve Minott, Windham; 8, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 9, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 10, Allan Moeller Sr., Dresden; 11, Richard Jordan, Kingfield; and 12, Tyler Robbins, Montville.

Strictly Street (25 laps) — 1, Dan Brown, Peru; 2, Dave Brannon, Lisbon; 3, Zack Emerson, Sabattus; 4, Richard Spaulding, Lisbon; 5, Mac Hannan Jr., Union; 6, Ben Erskine, Farmington; 7, Mike Brown, Union; 8, Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 9, Jairet Harrison, Freeport; 10, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 11, Tasha Dyer, Freedom; 12, Charles Beal, Ledyard, Conn.; 13, Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 14, Mike Stewart, Durham; 15, Glen Reynolds, Greene; 16, Paul Lund, no town given; 17, Foster Messerve, Wales; 18, Phil Main Sr, Trevett; 19, Tommy Smith, Edgecomb; 20, Mike Marshall, Randolphl; 21, Guy Childs, Turner; 22, Allen Higgins, Brunswick; and 23, Shawn Rines, Wiscasset.

Thunder 4 Mini (30 laps) — 1, Ryan Chadwick, Wiscasset; 2, Nate Tribbet, Richmond; 3, Cody Robbins, Winslow; 4, Trey Brown, Winterport; 5, Cody Tribbet, Richmond; 6, Leandra Martin, Richmond; 7, Curtis Anderson, Richmond; 8, Travis Pouliot, Madison; 9, Robert McDonald, Smithfield; 10, Kyia Rousse, Portland; 11, Kyle Dorey, Bowdoinham; 12, Tyler Bailey, Wiscasset; and 13, Jeff Davis, Woolwich.

Mini Trucks (15 laps) — 1, Matt Curtis, Freeport; 2, Jerry McKenna, Milton; 3, Kris Knox, Sanford; 4, Jeff Schmidt, Mechanic Falls; 5, Dave Gammon, Peru; and 6, Matt Weil, Biddeford.

Enduro (100 laps) — 1, John Rines; 2, Mike St. Germain; 3, Roy Glidden; 4, Kyle Enman; 5, Adam Chadbourne; 6, Mike Marshall; 7, Travis Chaison; 8, James Grover; 9, Jeff Davis; 10, Donald Peavey; 11, Matt Williams; 12, Mike Miete; 13, Joe Katula; 14, Zack Emerson; 15, Matthew Brown; 16, Scott Eck; 17, Pete McCollet; 18, Ron Whitcomb; 19, Vern Hodgkins Jr.; and 20, Jonathan Emerson.

Ken Minott writes for Wiscasset Speedway.