The town of Morrill is home to one of the state's best drivers for the second straight year.

Travis Benjamin, a Belfast Area High School graduate, distanced himself from the field again for the second straight year and surged to victory at the 41st annual Oxford 250 Sunday, July 20, at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Benjamin, driving the No. 17 car, started 27th among the 44 cars in the field and worked his way to the front of the pack amid eight caution flags and held off Austin Theriault for the win. Benjamin started eighth in last year's race.

Benjamin took the lead in lap 227 and led the final 23 laps. He was one of six different race leaders in the event.

Richie Dearborn, Cassius Clark and T.J. Brackett rounded out the top five.

The win netted Benjamin $27,400, and he is now one of five drivers to win the race in back-to-back years.

Eddie MacDonald (2009-10), Ben Rowe (2003-04), Ralph Nason (1998-2000) and Geoff Bodine (1980-81) each won the event in back-to-back years, with Nason the only racer to win the event three consecutive years.

Benjamin will have as good a chance as any to join Nason as the only three-time winner with a victory next year.

The win is Benjamin's second of the season. He also won the Ripley & Fletcher Ford 150 April 12 at Oxford. Benjamin races in Pro All-Star Series (PASS) North.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.