It was a perfect day at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday, Aug. 1 as fans gathered to watch the group two classes in racing action. Divisions included Strictly Street, Outlaw Mini, Late Model Sportsman, Modified and the flex race Amsoil Nelcar Legends.

The Strictly Street Division began with 12 racers competing in a 35-lap event with Ethan Dinsmore starting on the pole and Maurice Young beside him. Cody Verrill was in third. When racing began, Kyle Hewins passed Young for third and continued up the track and passed Young during lap two.

Kurt Hewins advanced up the track from his seventh-place start and passed Young during lap four. As Kyle Hewins battled Dinsmore for the lead, Kyle Hewins bumped Dinsmore from behind during lap five as Dinsmore slid sideways on the track, which called for a caution. Kyle Hewins took the lead on the caution, while Kurt Hewins moved to second and Young third.

A collision between the trio sent all three to the back of the pack as Dan Brown took the lead and Verrill moved to second. Chandler Harrison passed Verrill on the restart and Jairet Harrison made a push into third. Young and Harrison made contact during lap 14 which brought out another caution. Brown maintained the lead, while Harrison took second and Kurt Hewins battled back into third place.

Hewins later regained first and took the checkered flag, but he failed a post-race inspection and the win was awarded to Brown. Chandler Harrison finished second and Dinsmore third.

The Outlaw Minis were next in a 25-lap feature, as Shane Smith started on the pole, Shane Kaherl beside him and Mike Bolduc behind him. Kaherl and Bolduc got into an early jam that sent Brent Roy into the back stretch wall.

When action resumed, Bryan Lancaster passed Bolduc on the outside for third and continued his advance, passing Kaherl for second. Lancaster took the lead when he passed Smith on the outside of turn three of the third lap.

Shawn Kimball came up from behind and passed Kaherl on the outside and took second when he passed Smith on the outside during lap five. Kimball raced door-to-door with Lancaster for the lead and passed Lancaster during lap 12.

Smith went to the pits with mechanical issues during lap 10 and Justin Trombley took advantage as he moved up to third. During lap 16 there was a caution when Kaherl and Cody Tribbet made contact and both went into the front stretch wall. When action resumed, Trombley got ahead of Lancaster and took second. The following lap there was another caution when Jimmy Childs and Lancaster got together.

Trombley made a late push, but Kimball took the checkered as Trombley finished second and Childs third.

The 35-lap Late Model Sportsman race was caution-free with considerable door-to-door racing among the 17 cars in the field. Andrew McLaughlin started on the pole and did not relinquish the lead, while Tyler Robbins was second and Ben Erskine third.

It was not until the 15th lap that a top-three leader change took place when Dave St. Clair passed Erskine on the inside of turn four. Robbins was later caught in lap traffic as St. Clair moved into second while Nick Hinkley followed St. Clair to third.

The duo then went door-to-door over the final laps, but Hinkley overtook St. Clair for second, while the latter settled for third with McLaughlin taking the checkered flag.

The 25-lap Amsoil Nelcar Legends was quick and action-packed as Tylar Braunschweig started on the pole with Matt Grant second and Matt Chagnot third. When the green flag flew, Alan Smith passed Chagnot for third, while Bob Weymouth later overtook Smith for third, while Braunschweig and Grant raced for the lead.

In the end, Braunschweig could not hold off Grant as the latter picked up the win. It was Grant's first win at Wiscasset. The race also had two cautions.

The 30-lap Modified race was a crowd-pleaser as seven-time modified winner Mark Lucas had his hands full with Nick Reno. Shawn Austin started on the pole with Ron Bryant beside him and Richard Jordan in third. Lucas and Reno worked their way to the front of the pack as Reno took first by lap five with Austin second and Lucas third. Lucas passed Austin on lap 12 and after a caution on lap 14, Reno and Lucas went door-to-door as Reno pulled ahead and motored to the checkered flag. Kevin Douglas finished third.

The individual racing results from Aug. 1 were:

Strictly Street (35 laps) — 1, Dan Brown, Peru; 2, Chandler Harrison, Freeport; 3, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope; 4, Cody Verrill, Wiscasset; 5, Joe Hutter, Leeds; 6, Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 7, Jeff Davis, Woolwich; 8, Kimberly Knight, Chesterville; 9, Jairet Harrison, Freeport; 10, Maurice Young, Chelsea; and 11, Guy Childs Sr., Turner.

Outlaw Minis (25 laps) — 1, Shawn Kimball, Augusta; 2, Justin Trombley, Winter Harbor; 3, Billy Childs, Leeds; 4, Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 5, Cody Tribett, Richmond; 6, Mike Bolduc, Windsor; 7, Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 8, Shane Kaherl, Jay; 9, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 10, Shane Smith, Augusta; and 11, Brent Roy, Vassalboro.

Late Model Sportsman (35 laps) — 1, Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 2, Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 3, Dave St. Clair, Liberty; 4, Tyler Robbins, Montville; 5, Shane Clark, Winterport; 6, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 7, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 8, Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 9, Nathan Tribett, Richmond; 10, Tracy Gordon, Strong; 11, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 12, Nick Jenkins, Brownville; 13, Steve Minot, Windham; 14, Richard Jordan, Kingfield; 15, Ben Erskine, Farmington; 16, Jay Bailey, Wiscasset; and 17, Bryan Robbins, Montville.

Amsoil Nelcar Legends (25 laps) — 1, Matt Grant, Windham; 2, Tyler Braunschweig, West Newfield; 3, Bob Weymouth, Topsham; 4, Kevin Girard Jr., Old Orchard Beach; 5, Alan Smith, Lincoln; 6, Mathew Bourgoine, Newport; 7, Matt Chagnot, Derry, N.H.; 8, Mike Humphrey, Cornish; 9, Peter Craig, Poland; 10, David Johnson, Arlington, Mass.; 11, Richard Humphrey, Parsonfield; 12, Ed Getty, Gray; 13, Terry Kirk, Durham; 14, Roger Edgecomb, Hiram; 15, Arthur Marreno, Baltic; 16, Jack Walker, Bow, N.H; 17, Austin Teras, Windham; 18, Thomas Everson, Gilmarnton, N.H.; 19, Zachary Godbout, Mt. Vernon; 20, Colby Meserve, Buxton; and 21, Kevin Oliver, Raymond.

Modified (30 laps) — 1, Nick Reno, West Bath; 2, Mark Lucas, Harpswell; 3, Kevin Douglass, Sidney; 4, Mike Orr, Wiscasset; 5, Jairet Harrison, Freeport; 6, Shawn Austin, Norridgewock; 7, Ron Bryant, Livermore; 8, Joseph Williams, Woolwich; 9, Todd Ladd, Farmington; and 10, Richard Jordan, Kingfield.

Lisa Maguire writes for Wiscasset Speedway.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.