Parity was the name of the game this season for the adult ice hockey league at the Midcoast Recreation Center, but when it came time to decide a champion the regular-season's first-place squad came on in waves.

In the end, No. 1 Tsunami won the championship with a 9-3 victory over No. 2 Mariners in postseason action on Sunday night, March 19 at MRC.

In the consolation game, No. 2 Beavers (they and Mariners tied for that spot) beat No. 4 Seahawks 5-4 in overtime.

Click for photos from the final adult games of season.

Watch video below.

Jesse Simko, rink manager and member of the Tsunami, said the four-team league had its most parity yet and the playoffs proved exciting.

The regular-season standings showed: 1, Tsunami, 9-7-3, 21 points; 2, (tie) Beavers and Mariners, 9-8-2, 20 points; and 4, Seahawks, 7-11-1, 15 points.

In the playoff semifinals, No. 1 Tsunami beat No. 4 Seahawks and, in a battle of second-ranked opponents, the Mariners bested the Beavers

In the final night of action, Tsunami stayed on top of the pack by winning 9-3 over the Mariners. The hard-fought battle was tied 1-1 after the first period, before the champs broke out offensively. Tsunami had six different players score at least one goal in the final game.

The teams included:

Tsunami — Jesse Simko, Kyle Matthews (goalie), Colin McGee, Ed Thibeault, Owen Cartwright, Cody Smith, Didier Bonner-Ganter, Orrin Todd, Yannick Price-Prevot, Andrew Peters and Lucas Dill.

Mariners — Roger Moreau, Alec Binder (goalie), Stephen Hand, Zach Hand (played in net in the final), Mike Sabattini, Karl Enroth, Shane Lydon, Jamie Johnson, Ethan Shaw, Kyle Witbeck, Jamie Francomano and Cheyne Hansen.

Beavers — Tom Martinelli, Andrew Marshall, Dakotah Mank (goalie), Max Arsenault, Bill Arsenault, Alain Ollier, Kurt Brackett, Chris Gale, Doug Rushton, Dominic Hastings, Ben Lynch and Brendan McQuillen.

Seahawks — Steve Moore, David Manning (goalie), Asa Peats, Jeff Rasmussen, Bart Read, Jared Nicholas, Bill McClellan, Christian Andrus, Chris Grigsby, Chester Billings, Ryan Leshane and Phil Bellows.