The Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference unveiled its Class A and Class B all-conference and all-academic selections for the spring, a scenario that gave glowing reviews of high school student-athletes and coaches from Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Belfast, Camden Hills of Rockport, Mount View of Thorndike and Oceanside of Rockland/Thomaston.

Boatloads of Knox, Waldo and Lincoln county athletes and coaches nabbed awards, including Medomak Valley softball player Gabby DePatsy, who was the Class B player of the year, and Camden Hills boys tennis coach Noah Capetta, named Class B coach of the year.

DePatsy pitched for the Panthers and also was the team's top offensive player as she batted .443, with six doubles, three triples, six home runs and 31 RBIs, along with a .460 on-base percentage and a .934 slugging percentage.

In the pitching circle, DePatsy finished 8-1 and sported a 2.31 earned run average, with 82 strikeouts.

"Gabby had a great year at the plate," said Panther coach Richard Vannah, and added her pitching statistics could have been more impressive had the team not had another pitcher in Addie Jameson.

Capetta led the Windjammers to an undefeated record, the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B title, along with their fourth straight regional championship and second straight state title.

The all-conference and all-academic selections for Midcoast student-athletes (all information comes from league) includes:


Class B first team — Medomak Valley’s DePatsy and Lydia Simmons; and Oceanside’s Chloe Jones and Alexis Mazurek.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Olivia Lovejoy; Mount View’s Reanna Boulay; and Oceanside’s Casey Pine.

Class B all-academic — Mount View’s Boulay; and Oceanside’s Casey Benner, Mazurek and Haylie Witham.

Class B player of the year — Medomak Valley’s DePatsy.

Class A second team — Camden Hills’ Nicole Brown.


Class B first team — Oceanside’s Titus Kaewthong.

Class B second team — Belfast’s Grey Dinsmore and Zach Dyer; Medomak Valley’s Cameron Robinson; and Mount View’s Colby Furrow.

Class B all-academic — Belfast’s Shane Alley, Andrew Cross, Garrett Hamlin and Zach Sheafe; Medomak Valley’s Adam Eutsler, Isaac Eutsler and Patrick White; Mount View’s Joseph Danna, Furrow, Ethan Jacobs and Kevin Richards; and Oceanside’s Coby Dorr.

Class A first team — Camden Hills’ Garrison Looke.

Class A all-academic — Camden Hills’ Looke, Jack Moody, Jacson Mooers and Joergen Ostensen.

Boys track and field

First team — Belfast’s Jack Hansen and Caleb Hilt; Camden Hills’ Sam Hebert; Medomak Valley’s Cole Ashmore, Josh Goldrup, Kenneth Pruyne, Richie Sproul and Maverick Young; Mount View’s Devon Davis, Alan Gibbs, Josh Larrabee and Shaynen Schofield; and Oceanside’s Nate Hersom.

All-academic — Belfast’s Tyler Macleod, Zander Roman and Leaf Rorick-Burnett; Camden Hills’ Nicholas LeClerc and Caleb Love-Webb; Medomak Valley’s Cameron Leach; Oceanside’s Hersom; and Mount View’s Chase Hubbard, Cameron Morin, Noah Pringle and Brandon Reynolds.

Girls track and field

First team — Belfast’s Zoe Deans, Emily Jolliffe, Junne Robertson-McIntire, Kelsey Mehuren, Kylie Nelson and Hannah Sanderson; Camden Hills’ Miranda Dunton, Grace Iltis, Macy Pushaw, Augusta Stockman and Emma Trapani; and Mount View’s Shala Davis.

All-academic — Belfast’s Anna Baiungo, Faith Beaulieu, Abigail Berry and Nelson; Camden Hills’ Mallory Caron and Emma Trapani; and Oceanside’s Brianna White-Ortiz.

Boys lacrosse

First team — Camden Hills’ Marco D’Amato, Thomas Griebel and Will Davee.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Perrin Ganter and Morgan Mercier.

Girls lacrosse

First team — Oceanside’s Jillian Brooks, Kelsey Brooks, Sierra Beal and Sydney Hall.

Second team — Camden Hills’ Katie Southworth, Ryan Hart and Sarah Contento; and Oceanside’s Elise Laslavic and Emily Tyler.

All-academic — Julia Barbour, Samantha Berry, Jillian Brooks, Kelsey Brooks, Hall and Shannon Ripley.

Boys tennis

First team — Camden Hills’ Josiah Krul, Henry Cooper, Cooper Russell, Noah Heidorn and David Poutasse.

Second team — Camden Hills’ Matt Morse and Colby Arau.

All-academic — Belfast’s Ulysse Bex and Nolan Woods; Camden Hills’ Arau, Morgan Ford, Krul and Morse; Medomak Valley’s Quinn Ashmore and Greg Wadsworth; and Oceanside’s Mitchell DelFrate.

Coach of the year — Camden Hills’ Capetta.

Girls tennis

First team — Camden Hills’ Sophia Landry, Kassie Krul, Charlotte Messer, Julia Holt, Kelsie Merrill and Claire Pierce.

All-academic — Camden Hills’ Julia Holt, Kelsie Merrill, Messer and Emma Vannorsdall; Medomak Valley’s Jessie Hugh, Chelsea Ripley, Maggie Ryan and Hannah Smith; and Oceanside’s Emma Lee and Meredith Mitchell.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.