Travis Benjamin of Morrill nailed down his first Pro All Stars Series victory of this season with a dominant performance on Saturday night, July 15 in the "Make-A-Wish" 150 at Star Speedway.

After swapping the early lead with six-time PASS North champion Johnny Clark in the opening laps of 150-lap event, Benjamin pulled away from the pack, leading by almost four seconds by the time eventual runner-up Ben Rowe of Turner made it to second position.

Benjamin, whose Petit Motorsports #7 car has been amazing on long runs this season — though late cautions have foiled his attempts to claim victor — took less than 35 minutes to complete this caution-free, green-to-checkered run in his Associated Grocers of Maine-sponsored ride.

Rowe, the current PASS Super Late Model National Championship Series kingpin, cut into Benjamin’s lead substantially in the closing laps, but a caution flag never appeared to aid his quest and he finished 1.32-seconds behind the winner.

Rowe and the Richard Moody Racing, Hancock Lumber-sponsored team unofficially moved to the top of the Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model championship standings by a narrow margin over race winner Benjamin.

Tracy Gordon of Strong earned another third-place finish aboard his A-One Builders/Gordon Lumber #41.

Early race leader Clark, of Farmingdale was fourth under the checkered flag in the Clark Scrap Metals machine. Reigning Oxford 250 champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. rounded out the top five in his Bernhardt Motorsports ride, sponsored by E Keys 4 Cars.

Joey Doiron of Berwick was the only other racer who managed to remain on the lead lap as Benjamin set a blistering pace. Doiron ended in sixth position.

Benjamin and Clark won 12-lap heat races to set the starting grid for the "Make-A-Wish" 150.

The next Pro All Stars Series North Super Late Model race is scheduled for Sunday, July 30 at Oxford Plains Speedway.

For more information, visit or call (207) 539-8865.

The individual results of that race were:

Pro All Stars Series Super Late Model "Make-A-Wish" 150 (150 laps) — 1, Travis Benjamin, Morrill; 2, Ben Rowe, Turner; 3, Tracy Gordon, Strong; 4, Johnny Clark, Farmingdale; 5, Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dover, N.H.; 6, Joey Doiron, Berwick; 7, Mike Hopkins, Hermon; 8, Joe Squeglia, Derry; 9, Derek Griffith, Hudson; 10, Dave Farrington Jr., Jay; 11, Bobby Seger Jr., Frankfort; 12, Anthony Nocella, Woburn, Mass.; 13, Glen Luce, Turner; and 14, D.J. Shaw, Center Conway, N.H.

Courier Publications’ sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.