Voting is open now through Feb. 28 in Bangor Savings Bank's annual "Community Matters More" campaign. In April, the Bangor Savings Bank Foundation will give more than $100,000 to 45 local nonprofit organizations. Members of the community are asked to help decide how best to distribute the funds.

The regional ballot for Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and Waldo counties lists only four nonprofits, three of which are in Waldo County. Anyone who logs in may vote for three candidates — including those listed, or nonprofits the voter chooses to write in, or a combination of both. Those listed for our region are:

Brooks Preservation Society

The society's mission is to protect, preserve, and celebrate historic structures and artifacts in the surrounding communities for the benefit of the citizens and local economy.

Jackson Food Pantry

The pantry provides food to disadvantaged individuals in Jackson and  surrounding communities.

Stockton Springs Community Library

The library's mission is to create educational and historical resources for people of all ages, promote and encourage reading, and to enrich the lives of its community members.

Knox County Meals on Wheels

Meals on Wheels delivers hot, nutritious meals to older adults and disabled individuals in Knox County, making is possible for seniors to live at home for as long as possible.

To vote, go online to or visit a Bangor Savings Bank branch.

According to the bank's website, 36 grants will be awarded to the winning organizations listed on the regional ballots and nine grants will go to the top nine write-in vote recipients (one per region). The top two vote-getting organizations in each region, including write-ins, will each receive $5,000. The remaining 27 organizations will each receive $1,000.

Voters may submit one ballot — paper or online — with up to three votes. Votes may be for organizations on the ballot, write-ins, or a combination of both, but cannot total more than three. Votes must be for three different nonprofits. Duplicate ballots will be removed.

To be eligible, write-in nominations must be for registered 501(c)(3) organizations and be open to all (nonsectarian).

Online voting ends Wednesday, Feb. 28, at 11:59.59 p.m.