Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference coaches and officials have spoken and, in retrospect, they really liked what they saw from a bundle of Midcoast high school student-athletes in the swimming pool, at the ice hockey rink and on the basketball court, cheering floor and wrestling mat.

A number of Midcoast high school student-athletes — and two area coaches — from Medomak Valley of Waldoboro, Oceanside of Rockland/Thomaston, Belfast, Camden Hills of Rockport and Mount View of Thorndike have been recognized.

Missing are those honored for boys ice hockey and skiing, information that should be available at a later date.

The names of honorees come directly from the league.

The honored Midcoast student-athletes, broken down by winter sport, include:

Girls ice hockey — Camden Hills' Sarah Contento, all-academic.

Cheering (Class B) — Medomak Valley's Megan Wright, Cassi Smeltzer and Adrianna Wadsworth, as well as Mount View's Rayno Boivin, first team. Medomak Valley's Leah Wilcox and Mount View's Shauna Randall, second team. Medomak Valley's Anna Wadsworth and Megan Wright, as well as Mount View's Hannah Clifford, all-academic.

Boys swimming (Class B) — Belfast's Jesse Kulbe, Fletcher Marriner, Aiden Pike and Rudi Schnetzer, as well as Camden Hills' Angus Carter, Connor Hedstrom, Connor O'Farrell, Cooper Russell and Kyle Wood, first team. Camden Hills' Alex Jurek, Cooper Russell and Kyle Wood, all-academic.

Girls swimming (Class B) — Belfast's Jillian Clapp, Kayla Payson, Karrigan Smith, Olivia Smith and Sadie Wheeler, as well as Camden Hills' Eve Gutheinz, Eleanor Lincoln, Amanda Mirabile, Katherine O'Brien and Phoebe Root, first team. Belfast's Olivia Hills and Olivia LaRoche, as well as Camden Hills' Amanda Mirabile and Fiona Sewall, all-academic.

Boys indoor track and field (Class A) — Camden Hills' Sam Hebert, second team. Camden Hills' Stephen Crawford, all-academic.

Boys indoor track and field (Class B) — Belfast's Jon Duso, Eamon Goscinski, Jack Hansen, Tyson Hill, Carter Patterson, Ricky Smith and Christian Sukeforth, first team. Belfast's Grey Dinsmore, Matt Kelley, Brendan Moline and Nathaniel Morsey, second team. Belfast's Evan Kennedy and Christian Sukeforth, as well as Oceanside's Declan Wright, Samuel King and Patrick Corcoran, all-academic. Belfast's Geoff Bird is coach of the year.

Girls indoor track and field (Class A) — Camden Hills' Audrey Clement and Catherine Heavey, all-academic.

Girls indoor track and field (Class B) — Belfast's Mackenzie Banks, Summer Deans, Zoe Deans, Emily Jolliffe, Junne Robertson-McIntire, Kelsey Mehuren and Hannah Sanderson, as well as Mount View's Betsy Hunt, first team. Belfast's Zoe Deans, Emily Jolliffe and Kelsey Mehuren, along with Oceanside's Mackenzie Murray, Cassidy Boynton, Molly Rizkalla-Davis and Amber Johnston, all-academic.

Wrestling (Class A and B) — Camden Hills' Noah Lang (145 pounds) and Medomak Valley's Eli Miller (152), first team. Camden Hills' Allen Dawson (126) and Alex Vokey (170), as well as Belfast's Chase Curry (132) and Brian White (220), and Mount View's Mark Ward (138), second team. Belfast's Jacob Racioppi and Camden Hills' Alex Vokey, all-academic. Medomak Valley's Eli Miller, outstanding wrestler for Class B. Medomak Valley's Billy Bramhall, Class B coach of the year.

Boys basketball (Class AA/A South) — Camden Hills' Noah Heidorn and Medomak Valley's Gabe Allaire, first team. Camden Hills' John Curtin, second team. Camden Hills' Jesse Fraser, Noah Heidorn and Daniel Peabody, as well as Medomak Valley's Brent Stewart, all-academic. Medomak Valley's Nick DePatsy, coach of the year.

Boys basketball (Class B) — Oceanside's Michael Norton Jr. and Cooper Wirkala, as well as Belfast's Stanley Sturgis, first team. Belfast's Tyler Bartlett, Stanley Sturgis and Kristina Walker (manager), as well as Mount View's Josh Larrabee and Max Tomlin, and Oceanside's Josh Peaco, Jack Freeman, Hunter Fowles (manager) and Michael Norton Jr., all-academic.

Girls basketball (Class AA/A South) — Medomak Valley's Gabby DePatsy, first team; and Camden Hills' Lauren Miller, second team. Camden Hills' Lauren Miller, MiAe DeWaard, Nicole Brown and Kira Barley, all-academic.

Girls basketball (Class B) — Mount View's Andrea Crosby and Oceanside's Gabby Simmons, first team. Mount View's Shala Davis, second team. Belfast's Allison DeFeo, Emma Mehuren and Alexia Sweet, along with Oceanside's Gabby Simmons and Mount View's Paula Miller and Katelin Bennett, all-academic.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.