The nomination period for party candidates seeking state offices closed at the end of the day March 15. Below is a complete list of those who made the cut.

Candidates are listed with their party affiliation, town of residence and campaign funding — MCEA (Maine Clean Elections Act) or Traditional. Incumbents are indicated in bold type.

Primary elections will be held June 12 to narrow the field to one candidate from each major party. Non-party candidates have until June 1 to file nomination papers.


15 candidates are running to replace Republican Gov. Paul LePage, who has reached the term limit for governor.
Adam Cote, D-Sanford
Donna Dion, D-Biddeford
Mark Dion, D-Portland
Mark Eves, D-North Berwick
Kenneth Fredette, R-Newport
Garrett Mason, R-Lisbon
Mary Mayhew, R-China
Janet Mills, D-Farmington
Shawn Moody, R-Gorham
Diane Russell, D-Portland
Elizabeth Sweet, D-Hallowell
Michael Thibodeau, R-Winterport

U.S. 2nd Congressional District

Bruce Poliquin, R-2nd District
Phil Cleaves, D-Dexter
Jonathan Fulford, D-Monroe
Jared Golden, D-Lewiston
Craig Olson, D-Islesboro
Tim Rich, D-Bar Harbor
Lucas St. Clair, D-Hampden

Senate District 11

Currently represented by Sen. Michael Thibodeau, R-Winterport, is running for governor after reaching the term limit for state senators.
Jayne Giles, R-Belfast, MCEA
Joseph Greenier, D-Stockton Springs, MCEA
Erin Herbig, D-Belfast, MCEA

House District 96

Stanley Paige Ziegler, D-Montville, MCEA
Robert Currier, R-Belmont, Traditional

House District 97

Currently seated is Rep. Erin Herbig, D- Belfast, who running for Senate District 11 after reaching the term limit for state representatives.
Bevelyn Beatty, R-Belfast, MCEA
Janice Dodge, D-Belfast, MCEA
Caitlin Hills, D-Belfast, MCEA
Rita Horsey, R-Belfast 

House District 98

Rep. James Gillway, R-Searsport, has held the position for eight years and reached the term limit.
Scott Cuddy, D-Winterport, MCEA
Jerry Ireland, R-Swanville, Traditional
Brian Kresge, R-Winterport, Traditional

House District 99

MaryAnne Kinney, R-Knox, Traditional
Abigail St. Valle, D-Brooks, MCEA
April Turner, D-Freedom, MCEA

House District 131

Karleton Ward, R-Holden, Traditional
Nathalie Arruda, D-Orland, MCEA

District Attorney Prosecutorial District 6

Jonathan Liberman, R-West Bath, Traditional
Natasha Irving, D-Waldoboro, Traditional

Waldo County Sheriff

Jeffrey Trafton, R-Thorndike, Traditional
John Gibbs, I-Monroe *(Gibbs has declared his candidacy but has not yet filed nomination papers. As an independent, he has until June 1)

Waldo County Commissioner

Betty Johnson, D-Lincolnville, Traditional

Waldo County Treasurer

Currently held by David Parkman, a Republican, who did not file papers for re-election.
Peter Sheff, R-Morrill, Traditional
Bill Sneed, D-Prospect, Traditional

Waldo County Register of Deeds

Stacy Grant, D-Stockton Springs, Traditional


Editor's note: The online version of this story was updated March 19 to reflect Robert Currier's campaign funding is traditional.