With a light load of town business and lower turnout than usual, residents whipped through their annual meeting in about an hour March 17.

Voters approved raising a total of $355,700 for town expenses. That number is up about $6,000 from last year, Town Clerk Brenda Dennison said.

Bruce Littlefield ran unopposed for the Board of Selectmen. He replaces Joe Laliberte, who did not seek re-election. Voters re-elected Fire Chief Don Nickerson Sr., elected Mary Correa in an uncontested race for EMA director, and re-elected Marlene Thompson as sexton over challenger Erick LaClair, 22-15.

Residents approved taking $15,000 out of surplus to replace the boiler at the Town Office and install automatic doors at the transfer station, Dennison said, adding that the town meeting warrant had no new ordinances or other big-ticket items.

Dennison said this might explain why only about 50 people attended the meeting, as compared with larger crowds in past years.

"I don't know whether there was nothing exciting on there to draw them out into the cold, or what," she said.