Seven Maine community college students — two of them from Waldo County — will be honored for their academic success and campus and community involvement at a luncheon ceremony Wednesday, April 25, at the Senator Inn in Augusta.

The event will be hosted by the Maine Community College System board of trustees.

The 2018 MCCS Student of the Year Awards ceremony will begin at 11 a.m. and will be followed by a luncheon. The students being recognized are:

· KVCC: Lori Ann Cobb, nursing, Knox;

· SMCC: Claudia Johnson, liberal studies, Islesboro;

· CMCC: William Rolfe, human services, West Paris;

· EMCC: Jordanna Sprague, fire science technology, Burlington;

· NMCC: Elizabeth Anne Allen, nursing, Mars Hill;

· WCCC: Tammy Cox, education, Calais;

· YCCC: Sharon Platt, behavioral health, Biddeford.

The seven students being honored were selected by faculty and staff at the colleges. In addition to being recognized as Students of the Year, they will each receive a John H. Lapoint Jr. Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000.

Lapoint was president of UF Strainrite in Lewiston and a trustee of the Maine Community College System. After his death in 1995, his widow, Jana Lapoint, served on the board from 1995 to 2006 and helped establish the fund for the annual awards.