A chilly, windy day was not going to keep a large group of eager race fans from what they had been waited months for. Opening day had arrived.

Group 1 divisions took to the track Saturday afternoon, April 21 at Wiscasset Speedway with a little more than 1,200 racing enthusiasts huddled in for a day of fun.

The Thunder 4 Mini division had the honor of spotlight status for the day. Also in action were the ServPro of Biddeford Saco Pro Stocks, Maxwell's Market Super Streets and Cahill Tire 4-cylinder Pros.

The Thunder 4s lined up for their 35-lap feature with Michael Golding, and Noah Haggett on the front row. The two put on a good early battle as Haggett led the way until a lap-eight caution. On the restart, Haggett had shifting problems and dropped eight positions by the time he got up to full speed on the backstretch. That is all Golding needed as he ran out to a full straightaway lead by the halfway point of the race.

Behind him, several drivers including Caleb Emerson Mains, Cameron Campbell, Travis Poulliot and Brandon Varney battled  for the remaining two spots in victory lane. Poulliot finally broke into the clear and began to chase down the leader. Over the final 10 laps, Poulliot cut Golding's lead in half. Time ran out and Golding notched the victory. Poulliot settled for the runner-up trophy. Varney pulled in to claim the third, however, he was penalized in post-race inspection, handing his finish position to Caleb Emerson-Mains. Haggett recovered to finish fourth and Campbell took fifth.

In support action, Dave Farrington Jr. returned to the track where his racing career started nine years earlier and notched a convincing victory in the 40-lap feature for the ServPro of Biddeford Saco Pro Stocks. Farrington patiently worked the outside lane and finished the pass on Kevin Douglass by lap 15. From there he built up a comfortable cushion and held it to the checkers. It was his third career Pro Stock win at Wiscasset Speedway to go along with a pair of Late Model victories including the 2015 Coastal 200.

Nick Hinkley started fourth and finished second. They were joined in victory lane by Ajay Picard. Douglass and Charlie Colby filled out the top five.

In the 25-lap feature for the Maxwell's Market Super Streets defending champ Josh Bailey took advantage of a slip by pole sitter Sean Johnson, took the lead in turn four and ran to the feature win. 2017 rookie of the year Michael Harrison turned in a personal-best second-place finish, followed by Johnson.

The Cahill Tire 4-cylinder Pros saw second-year racer Hayden Norris of West Gardiner hold off challenges from a handful of veterans to pick up his first career win. Ryan Hayes and Larry Melcher joined him in victory lane, while Jeff Prindall and Craig Dunn rounded out the top five.

The official results from April 21 racing included:

Thunder 4 Minis (35 laps) — 1, Michael Golding, Pownal; 2, Travis Poulliot, China; 3, Calab Emerson-Mains, Richmond; 4, Noah Haggett, Wiscasset; 5, Cameron Campbell, New Gloucester; 6, David Greenleaf, Brunswick; 7, Brian Burr, Brunswick; 8, Brandon Lizotte, Lebanon; 9, Brandon Varney, Auburn; 10, Ryan Soule, Union; 11, Jim Emmons, Lebanon; 12, Howard Roberts, Jay; 13, Spencer Sweatt, Albion; and 14, Trystan Shea, Richmond.

Maxwell’s Market Super Streets (25 laps) — 1, Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 2, Michael Harrison, Durham; 3, Sean Johnson, Oakland; 4, Mike Hodgkins, Jefferson; 5, Zac Poland, Wiscasset; 6, Neil Evans Jr., Brunswick; 7, Cory Creamer, Randolph; 8, Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset; 9, Bouncer Knight, Jay; 10, David Thompson, Jefferson; 11, Bob Crocker, Freeport; and 12, Jeff Davis, Woolwich.

Cahill Tire 4-cyl. Pros (25 laps) — 1, Hayden Norris, Gardiner; 2, Ryan Hayes, Jefferson; 3, Larry Melcher, Jay; 4, Jeff Prindall, Lisbon; 5, Craig Dunn, Strong; 6, Jet Decker, Chesterville; 7, Taylor Lane, Phillips; 8, Nicole Benincasa, Buxton; 9, Mike Kibbins, South China; 10, Dominic Curret, town unavailable; 11, P.J. Merrill, Canton; and 12, Max Rowe, Turner.

ServPro of Biddeford Pro Stocks (40 laps) — 1, David Farrington, Jay; 2, Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 3, Ajay Picard, Palmyra; 4, Kevin Douglass, Sidney; 5, Charlie Colby, Newcastle; 6, Kevin Morse, Woolwich; 7, Jamie Wright, Woolwich; 8, Barry Poulin, Clinton; 9, James Barker, Jay; 10, Chris Ryan, Newburgh; 11, Travis Dunbar, Auburn; 12, Shane Lane, North Anson; 13, Phil Richardson, Hermon; and 14, James Osmond, Thomaston.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.