Teachers from each of Maine’s 16 counties were honored May 10 in Augusta’s State Capitol at an annual event hosted by the state Department of Education in the Hall of Flags announcing the 2018 Maine County Teachers of the Year. The group is the county finalists for Maine Teacher of the Year, an honor awarded each year to one teacher in Maine.

The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education and dedication to their students. They were selected by a distinguished panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.

The Knox County teacher of the year is Anthony Lufkin, of Friendship Village School, Prescott Memorial School in Washington, and Union Elementary School; the Waldo County teacher of the year is David Coffey, of Belfast Area High School and Troy Howard Middle School.

The field will be narrowed to eight semi-finalists who will begin working on their professional portfolio, a component of the National Teacher of the Year process. After the portfolio review and presentations to a select panel, the field is narrowed to three finalists. In October, the 2018 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected after a school site visit and final interview.

For more information, visit maine.gov/doe/toy/.