It had been 15 years since the Allan T. Wilcox Trophy, named after the longtime Babe Ruth contributor and Rockland District High School graduate — and given annually to the champion of the Midcoast Babe Ruth League — had returned to Rockland.

That long wait concluded at Morrill Field on Monday night, July 2 as No. 2 P.G. Willey (9-3) and No. 4 Rockland Ford (8-4) vied for the coveted league — for baseball players ages 13-15 — title.

Rockland Ford scored the first seven runs of the contest and held off a late P.G. Willey rally to motor to a 7-4 victory and, ultimately, the league championship.

Watch video, and see more photos, below.

P.G. Willey, which had won both its playoff games handily by mercy rule heading into the final contest, had the script flipped on it by Rockland Ford, which jumped to a 7-0 lead after a two-run second, a four-run third and another run in the fourth.

P.G. Willey scored single runs in the fourth and fifth frames and added a two-run sixth inning.

P.G. Willey, the home team by virtue of its higher seed, brought the tying run to the plate in the bottom of the seventh inning, but a strikeout ended the game with a win for Rockland Ford.

Team members for the newly-crowned league champs from Rockland Ford, led by manager Joe Nelsen, include Austin Chilles, Connor Calderwood, Nate Coombs, Jonah Carlson, Tim Farrelly, Alex Bartlett, Duncan Oakes-Nelsen, Andrew Peaco, Nate Barnard, Aidan Bonzagni, Max Bonzagni, Landon Tabbutt, Logan Jones and Duncan Natale.

Team members for the league runners-up from P.G. Willey, led by manager Tim Moody, include Logan Putansu, Liam O’Neal, Matt Kremin, Sam Moody, Aidan Schecter, Emmitt Dayhoof, Braden Moulton, Robbie Butler, Lucas Moody, Noah Thackeray, Owen Berez, Ben Schenk and Chris Cammelieri.

Leading Rockland Ford at the plate were Aiden Bonzagni (single, 2 runs), Calderwood (2 singles, run), Farrelly (2 singles, 2 runs), Carlson (single, run), Bernard (double, run, 3 RBIs) and Bartlett (single, RBI).

For P.G. Willey, Putansu (2 singles, run), Kremin (single), Moody (double, run), Schecter (double, run), Moulton (single, run, RBI) and O’Neal (double, single, RBI) paced the offense.

Putansu and Schecter pitched for P.G. Willey, as the duo allowed eight hits and five walks, with six strikeouts. Carlson and Coombs toed the rubber on the hill for Rockland Ford, as the teammates allowed eight hits and two walks, with two strikeouts.

Farrelly ripped a single to left, stole second base and moved to third after Carlson reached on an error. After Carlson stole second, Bernard plated Farrelly on a groundout and Carlson came in on a bloop single by Bartlett to put Rockland Ford up 2-0 in the second inning.

The hits kept coming in the third frame for Rockland Ford, which began when Aidan Bonzagni and Calderwood reached on back-to-back singles before Farrelly reached on an error — which allowed Aidan Bonzagni to come around to the plate — to give it a 3-0 advantage.

After Carlson reached on a bloop single to load the bases, Bernard came through with a two-run double — while the potential third run was cut down at the plate — to put Rockland Ford ahead 5-0. The visitors tacked on a sixth run moments later on an error and added a seventh run in the fourth on an RBI-single by Calderwood, which plated Aidan Bonzagni.

P.G. Willey dug itself into a hole, but began to dig out in the fourth when Moody doubled and eventually came in on a double by O’Neal to get on the board. The higher-seeded team tacked on another run in the fifth when Putansu scored on a ball put in play by Moody.

The higher seed continued to plug away at its deficit in the sixth when Schecter doubled and was singled home by Moulton, who himself scored on an error as Rockland Ford’s edge dwindled to 7-4.

Then, in the seventh, Putansu and Moody reached, which brought the tying run to the plate with one out, but the final two batters were retired as Rockland Ford held on the win the title.

Rockland Ford defeated No. 5 and defending champion Union Farm Equipment 10-6 in the quarterfinals and knocked off top-ranked and previously-unbeaten Penobscot Bay Dentistry 4-2 in eight innings in the semifinals.

P.G. Willey defeated No. 7 Granite Coast Orthodontics 13-3 in six innings in the quarterfinals and No. 6 TD Bank-Rockland 12-2 in five innings in the semifinals.

Some previous league champions included: Union Farm Equipment 2017, Swan Lake Gorcery 2016, Waldo County 2015, Waldo County 2014, Waldo County 2013, Rockport Automotive 2012, Rockport Automotive 2011, Rockport 2010, Rockport 2009, Newcastle 2008, Waldoboro 2007, Mount View 2006, Waldoboro 2005, Damariscotta 2004, Rockland 2003, Damariscotta 2002, Camden 2001 and Camden 2000.