Historically, Waldo County not only has been in the annual mix to win the District 2 Little League 11- and 12-year-old baseball championships, but often has dominated en route to that title.

This year's edition of the young, talented all stars from that county knew their goal was clear — namely, hold true to tradition and bring the district crown back home.

And, as it turns out, Waldo County again accomplished that feat in impressive fashion.

In a fun, tight, competitive title clash on Friday, July 13 at Petrillo Field, Waldo County broke open a 1-1 tie with three late runs to defeat Lincoln County 4-1 to finish unbeaten district champs.

Waldo County, which also defated Lincoln County 6-1 earlier in the district tourney, advances to the state tournament, which begins on Friday, July 20 in Machias.

Waldo County will represent District 2, while Machias (District 1), Old town (District 3), Saco (District 4), Lewiston (District 5) and Scarborough (District 6) fill out the six-team field.

Waldo County and Machias each receive first-round byes. Thus, Waldo County will face the winner of the July 20 game between Old Town and Lewiston Saturday, July 21 at 4 p.m.

Ultimately, Waldo County finished 3-0, Lincoln County 2-2, Five Town 2-2, Oceanside 1-2 and Medomak Valley 0-2 in the district tourney.

The previous scores in the double-elimination district tournament included: Waldo County 5, Medomak Valley 4; Oceanside 4, Five Town 3; Lincoln County 6, Oceanside 1; Five Town 8, Medomak Valley 5 (Medomak Valley eliminated); Waldo County 6, Lincoln County 1; Five Town 2, Oceanside 1 (Oceanside eliminated); and Lincoln County 13, Five Town 9 (Five Town eliminated).

Watch video, and see more photos, from the championship game below.

Click for previous story, photos and video from the tournament.

Click for other story, photos and video from the tournament.

A list of team members in the tourney included:

Waldo County — Ethan Abbott, Drew Bagley, Brady Clements, Aiden Davis, Ashton Ellis, Michael Gould, Dakota Harriman, Noah Houghton, Noah Hurd, Calvin Jewett, Eli Veilleux and Levi Winslow. The team is coached by Brandon Hurd, Tony Bagley and Travis Veilleux.

Lincoln County — Micah Tomasello, Lucas Houghton, Carson Hallowell, Kaden Bartrug, Tucker Stiles, Aidan Bryant, Gryffan Christian, Finn Harkins, Ryan Amaral, Gabe Hagar and Isaac Thompson. The team is coached by Allen Tomasello, Seth Hagar and Adam Harkins.

Oceanside — Matthias McPhail, Evan Morse, Liam Porter, Brady Proctor, Gavin Ripley, Jacob Watkinson, Dylan Winslow, Daniel Butler, Connor Curtis, Jack Fifield, Dominic Frisone, Zak Higgins and Rhys Jones. The team is coached by Roger Porter, Bryan Morse and Jeremy Proctor.

Five Town — Aiden Aselton, Cameron Brown, Franklin Coffey, Landon Geis, Owen Hotchkin, J.T. Johndro, Ezra Landry, Owen McManus, Quincy Messer, Eli Pluecker, Charlie Pons, Owen Reynolds, Dominic Roy and Camden Simonton. The team is coached by Barrett Brown, Kenny Johndro and Carl Aselton.

Medomak Valley — Isaac Simmons, Isaac Bickford, Gabe Lash, Kyle Smith, Mike Sabiens, Kristian Shumann, Sam Moody, Aaron Reed, Jaiden Starr, Donnie Havener, Porter Gahagan, Connor Benner and Kory Donlin. The team is coached by Keith Simmons, Matt Lash and Matt Moody.

The following is a recap of recently-reported results:

Waldo County 4, Lincoln County 1

At Damariscotta July 13, the host squad grabbed a 1-0 lead early before Waldo County knotted the contest 1-1. That is how things stood on a beautiful summer night before the eventual champs manufactured on run in the fifth inning and two insurance tallies in the sixth en route to the victory.

Winslow and Hurd combined on the mound for Waldo County, as Hurd started, but Winslow got most of the work as he pitched much of the contest. The two combined to allow three hits (all by Hurd), four walks and struck out 12.

Tomasello and Christian worked the bump for Lincoln County, as the duo allowed four hits, eight walks and struck out 10.

Keying Waldo County's offense, which scored one run in the third inning, one in the fifth and two in the sixth, were Hurd (3 runs), Harriman (double). Bagley (single), Veilleux (double), Houghton (single) and Gould (run). Due to his ability to do tremendous offensive damage, Winslow was intentionally walked several times.

For Lincoln County, which scored its lone run in the first inning, Christian cracked a triple and Stiles and Hagar singles. Those three straight hits accounted for Lincoln County's run in the first.

Winslow pitched hitless ball from that point.

Lincoln County 13, Five Town 9

At Damariscotta July 10, Lincoln County emerged victorious and punched its ticket to the championship game. Lincoln County scored nine times in the first inning and plated two more in the fourth and fifth innings, while Five Town scored two in the third, one in the fourth, four in the fifth and two in the sixth.

Leading Lincoln County at the plate were Bartrug (single, run), Tomasello (triple, 4 runs), Christian (double, 2 singles, run), Stiles (triple, single, 2 runs), Hagar (double, single, run), Harkins (double, single, run), Hallowell (single, run), Thompson (single, run) and Amaral (double, run).

Messer (2 runs, stolen base), Landry (single, 2 runs, stolen base), Brown (home run, double, 2 runs, stolen base), Reynolds (double, run), Aselton (single, 2 runs, 2 stolen bases) and Pluecker (2 singles, 2 stolen bases) led Five Town on offense.

Christian, Hagar and Tomasello pitched for Lincoln County, as the trio allowed seven hits and two walks, with seven strikeouts. Geis and Aselton pitched for Five Town, as the two allowed 14 hits and two walks, with six strikeouts.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.