While the leaves on the trees have yet to fade and the air has not turned cool and crisp, the Coastal Field Hockey Play Day Championships continue to be a consistent reminder to Midcoast residents that fall is rapidly approaching — and that high quality stick play is around the corner.

The 36th edition of the play day championships, held on Tuesday, Aug. 21 at Belfast Area High School, saw Camden Hills of Rockport, Mount View of Thorndike, Brewer, Hampden Academy and host Belfast participate in the event.

And the Lions, as they typically do, defended their home field and put on a scoring display for the crowd on their way to their third straight title.

Belfast collected 95 points to finish first, while Mount View finished second with 35; Hampden Academy, 30; Camden Hills, 29; and Brewer, 27.

Tuesday’s win marks the 26th time in 36 years the Lions have won the event, which began in 1983 and is an unofficial kickoff to the fall season for many Midcoast high school field hockey teams.

The scoring for the tournament is unconventional as five points are awarded for goals scored and one point for each shot on goal saved by the team’s goalie. The champion is crowned by who compiles the most points through four games.

Scores from the game included: Belfast 32, Camden Hills 0; Mount View 13, Hampden Academy 0; Belfast 33, Brewer 2; Mount View 8, Camden Hills 3; Hampden Academy 9, Brewer 5; Mount View 14, Brewer 3; Hampden Academy 20, Camden Hills 6; Belfast 20, Hampden Academy 1; Camden Hills 23, Brewer 17; and Belfast beat Mount View (score unavailable).

Team members for Belfast include Lindsay Bruns, Cassidy Clark, Hannah Sanderson, Sarah Woods, Amy Gaiero, Hannah Banks, Emily Woods, Cassie Jackson, Lauren Blood, Mackenzie Banks, Mallory Tibbetts, Kayci Faulkingham, Maya Cunningham, Kiera Doolan, Brooke Richards and Madison Shorey. The team is coached by Jam Holmes-Jackson.

Team members for Mount View include Kate Bourgeois, Kaylan Anderson, Summer Brown, Devon Burgess, Alexa Coffin, Moriah Dyer, Macy Fowler, Sena Hayes, Sonnie Heath, Thurston Illingworth, Sophia King, Maddy Knowlton, Lindsay Mattingly, Jacie Nickerson, Rachelle Ravin, Alyvia Ripley, Bella Roberts and Brianna Tripp. The team is coached by Gloria Hewett.

Team members for Camden Hills include Lexi Tinch, Capri Buck, Mackenzie Power, Ashlee McIntosh, Meredith Luce, Sophia Campbell, Lulu Lydon, Greta Bishop, Annika Reinwand, Kyla Taylor, Gail Curtis, Alyssa Bland, Charlotte Hood, Kennedy Peterson, Sofia Mott, Maggie Blemaster, Lillia Stone and Vickie Balla. The team is coached by Lindsey Clement.

Former tourney champions include: 1983 — Georges Valley; 1984 — Belfast; 1985 — Belfast; 1986 — Belfast; 1987 — Searsport; 1988 — Belfast; 1989 — Belfast; 1990 — Belfast; 1991 — Belfast; 1992 — Belfast; 1993 — Belfast; 1994 — Rockland; 1995 — Belfast; 1996 — Belfast; 1997 — Belfast; 1998 — Belfast; 1999 — Belfast; 2000 — Mount View; 2001 — Belfast; 2002 — Belfast; 2003 — Belfast; 2004 — Belfast; 2005 — Belfast; 2006 — Belfast; 2007 — Belfast; 2008 — Camden Hills; 2009 — Mount View; 2010 — Mount View; 2011 — Belfast; 2012 — Belfast; 2013 — Mount View; 2014 — Camden Hills; 2015 — none; 2016 — Belfast; and 2017, Belfast.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.