Elected officials sworn in Monday at City Hall included new City Councilor Paul Dean, who was elected from Ward 5, and returning councilors Mary Mortier and Neal Harkness, from Wards 1 and 2, respectively.

Dean and Mortier were officially unopposed on Nov. 6 but faced write-in challengers who ran on a platform of opposition to a proposed land-based salmon farm. Harkness won a closely contested race against Joanne Moesswilde, a registered candidate who also opposed the fish farm.

Mortier is starting her fourth term, Harkness his third. The three councilors join Ward 3 Councilor Eric Sanders, Ward 4 Councilor Mike Hurley and Mayor Samantha Paradis.