Three Waldo County schools traveled to two of the nine regional competition sites of the annual Maine Drama Festival over the weekend of March 8 and 9, bringing home Judges’ Commendations and All Festival Cast honors. Each of the sites hosted a mix of Class A (500 or more students) and the smaller Class B schools.

Belfast Area High School competed in Class A at Mount Desert Area High School with “Sherlock Holmes: Comedy Trilogy” by Dick Charlton. Donald Patton, Oceana Pacholski-Proctor, Tara O'Donovan, Ada Potter, Aiden Pike and Quinnten Silveira Charbonnier were named to the All Festival Cast, the latter three in the role of Sherlock Holmes. A Judges’ Commendations was awarded for Outstanding Set Design to Bryan Spaulding and Phoebe Norman.

Mount View High School (B) competed at Lawrence High School with “A Mad Breakfast” by Isabel McReynolds Grey. Samuel St. Onge was named to the All Festival Cast in part, certainly, to his elderly character’s break-out dance. A Judges’ Commendation was awarded for the troupe’s Unified Design Concept, which took its cue from black and white film.

Searsport District High School (B) also competed at Lawrence, with a play written some year’s ago by a then-student that went on to win a national scriptwriting award: “Unwanted Adventure,” by Brandon Johnson. Steven Courtney and William Bradley were named to the All Festival Cast.

Full statewide results are posted on the Maine Drama Festival’s Facebook pageThe State Finals will be held March 22 and 23, Class A at Camden Hills Regional High School and Class B at Ellsworth High School.