Just a few years ago Wiscasset Speedway's Super Street Division was a class on life support, on the verge of being eliminated.

Fast forward to 2019 and the Maxwell's Market Super Streets have not only rebounded and flourished, but have become one of the track's most competitive divisions.

That continued on Saturday night, Aug. 17, as Group 1 classes took to Wiscasset's high banks for a regular race program.

Bill Pinkham of Wiscasset has turned laps at his hometown track for more than 20 years but victory lane is a place where he had not visited in the past 12 months. But the 2001 driver of the year returned to the top of the chart with a dominating win in the 35-lap spotlight feature.

Driving a team car for points leader Mike Hodgkins, Pinkham started outside the front row and took the lead by the time the cars reached the backstretch. From there he built a half-straightaway advantage and held the lead for the remainder of the race. He picked up his first feature win since 2014 and his first Super Street checkered flag since 2000.

There was plenty of action behind the leader in the caution-free race. Former champ Mark Lucas of Harpswell started back in the pack in ninth and raced to a runner-up finish. Previous race winner Dan Trask of Chelsea took home the third-place trophy after starting 11th.

In support action, Jeff Prindall of Lisbon picked up his fourth win of the season in the Cahill Tire 4-Cylinder Pro Stocks. The defending champ was joined in victory lane by rookie Colby Peacock of Yarmouth and Taylor Lane of Phillips.

Curtis Anderson of Richmond held firm to his points lead in the Thunder 4 Minis with his third win of the season in their 25-lap tilt. Spencer Sweatt of Albion, the division runner-up, took second and Jacoby Perry of Pittston third.

The ServPro of Biddeford Saco Pro Stocks lined up 14 cars for the regular 40-lap feature. Second-generation racer Jamie Wright of Woolwich grabbed the early lead and held off a late charge from Andy Saunders to grab his third win of the season. Just one early caution slowed the action. Saunders, a two-time champ from Ellsworth, started in 10th and took home his second straight runner-up finish.

Points leader and defending champ Nick Hinkley of Wiscasset again was in search of his first checkered flag of 2019, but turned in a strong race, as he picked up his class-high sixth podium appearance in third. Kevin Morse turned in an inspiring fourth-place finish as he raced side-by-side with Kevin Douglass, without the benefit of power steering. Douglass rounded out the top five.

The "flex" division race of the night was for the G.O. Motorsports Nelcar Legends. Veteran Shawn Buffington made his drive up from Plainfield, Conn. well worth it as he charged up from the back of the field to claim the 25-lap feature win. Chris Burgess of Buckfield made it interesting with late pressure but had to settle for second. Thomas Everson of Gilmanton, N.H. recovered from an early spin to claim the third-place trophy.

Results from Aug. 10 racing were:

Maxwell's Market Super Streets (35 laps) — 1, Billy Pinkham, Wiscasset; 2, Mark Lucas, Harpswell; 3, Dan Trask, Chelsea; 4, Josh Bailey, Wiscasset; 5, Bouncer Knight, Jay; 6, Mike Hodgkins, Jefferson; 7, Jason Oakes, Boothbay; 8, Michael Harrison, Durham; 9, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 10, Bobby Mesimer, Woolwich; 11, Mike Wallace, Wiscasset; 12, Bob Crocker, Freeport; and 13, David Thompson, Jefferson.

Cahill Tire 4-Cylinder Pros (25 laps) — 1, Jeff Prindall, Lisbon; 2, Colby Peacock, Yarmouth; 3, Taylor Lane, Phillips; 4, Dominic Curit, Saco; 5, P.J. Merrill, Canton; 6, Nicole Benincasa, Buxton; 7, Noah Alexander, Orrington; 8, Jet Decker, Chesterville; 9, Mike Kibbin, Lisbon Falls; 10, Callahan Cox, Strong; 11, Benjamin Burgess, Hartford; 12, Andy Kaherl, Saco; and 13, Marissa LaPointe, Peru.

Thunder 4 Minis (25 laps) — 1, Curtis Anderson, Richmond; 2, Spencer Sweatt, Albion; 3, Jacoby Perry, Pittston; 4, Greg Gibbs, Richmond; 5, Bo Locke, Cornville; 6, Brian Burr, Brunswick; and 7, Ches Williams, Hope.

ServPro of Biddeford Saco Pro Stocks (40 laps) — 1, Jamie Wright, Woolwich; 2, Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 3, Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset; 4, Kevin Morse, Woolwich; 5, Kevin Douglass, Sidney; 6, Charlie Colby, Newcastle; 7, Cody Tribbett, Richmond; 8, Rodney Brooks, Thomaston; 9, Jacob Dore, North Berwick; 10, Cody Verrill, Woolwich; 11, Chris Ryan, Newburgh; 12, Joey Peaslee, Jefferson; and 13, Shane Lane, North Anson.

G.O. Motorsports Nelcar Legends (25 laps) — 1, Shaun Buffington, Plainfield, Conn.; 2, Chris Burgess, Buckfield; 3, Thomas Everson, Gilmanton, N.H.; 4, Nick Calvert, Steep Falls; 5, Peter Craig, Poland; 6, Tyler Barry, Griswold, Conn.; 7, Darren Gallant, Hampton, N.H.; 8, Alan Smith, Lincoln; 9, Ryan Rice, Biddeford; 10, Thomas Searles, Upton, Mass.; 11, Trevor Krouse, Gorham; 12, David Kinney, Skowhegan; 13, Colby Meserve, Buxton; and 14, Cody Rice, Biddeford.

Ken Minott works for Wiscasset Speedway.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at sports@villagesoup.com or by phone at 594-4401.