There is a first time for everything, and in terms of the Coastal Field Hockey Play Day Championships — which swung in for the 37th consecutive year on Wednesday, Aug. 28 — it was the first time the games were not held at Belfast Area High School or Camden Hills Regional — formerly Camden-Rockport — High School.

This year’s edition of the preseason high school field hockey tournament, which featured host Belfast, Camden Hills, Mount View of Thorndike, Hampden Academy and Boothbay Region, was held at Point Lookout.

The venue was changed due to the fact Allen Holmes Field — the home field of the Lions — is unavailable this fall due to the school’s varsity baseball infield being resodded.

While the hockey tourney playing surface was different — and faster being on artificial turf — the outcome, on a historical basis, remained the same as the Lions defended their title with their fourth straight play day title.

Watch video and see more photos below.

Belfast collected 136 points, while Boothbay finished second with 60 points; Camden Hills, third with 42; Mount View, fourth with 39; and Hampden Academy fifth with 24.

Wednesday’s win marked the 27th time in 37 years the Lions won the event, which began in 1983 and is an unofficial kickoff to the fall season for a handful of Midcoast high school field hockey teams.

The scoring for the tournament is unconventional as five points are awarded for goals scored and one point for each shot on goal saved by the team’s goalie. The champion is crowned by who compiles the most points through four games.

Team members for three Midcoast teams included:

Belfast — Hannah Banks, Mallory Tibbetts, Kayci Faulkingham, Brooke Richards, Sarah Wood, Emily Woods, Kiara Doolan, Hailee Lindelof, Sadie Wheeler, Madison Limeburner, Reilly Nickerson, Grace Hall, Reagan Seekins, Madison Shorey and Chelsea Gaiero. The team is coached by Jan Holmes-Jackson.

Mount View — Thurston Illingworth, Brianna Tripp, Sophia King, Kate Bourgeois, Jacie Nickerson, Sena Hayes, Macy Fowler, Sonnie Heath, Alexa Coffin, Bella Roberts, Mackenzie Kunesch, Allyee Corson, Ivory Spaulding, Ella Sawyer, Ella Dudley, Greta Ahlefeld, Sydney Bishop, Dakota Jones, Jaci Resmini and Mackenzie Burgess. The team is coached by Gloria Hewett.

Camden Hills — Claudine Webber, Ava Baeza, Alyssa Bland, Molly Shook, Charlotte Hood, Sofia Mott, Gail Curtis, Katie Thorn, Sophia Campbell, Meredith Luce, Lulu Lydon, Greta Bishop, Ani Reinwand, Kyla Taylor, Kennedy Peterson and Vicki Balla. The team is coached by Lindsey Clement.

Belfast's team members, coached by Jan Holmes-Jackson, will be listed later.

Former tourney champions include: 1983 — Georges Valley; 1984 — Belfast; 1985 — Belfast; 1986 — Belfast; 1987 — Searsport; 1988 — Belfast; 1989 — Belfast; 1990 — Belfast; 1991 — Belfast; 1992 — Belfast; 1993 — Belfast; 1994 — Rockland; 1995 — Belfast; 1996 — Belfast; 1997 — Belfast; 1998 — Belfast; 1999 — Belfast; 2000 — Mount View; 2001 — Belfast; 2002 — Belfast; 2003 — Belfast; 2004 — Belfast; 2005 — Belfast; 2006 — Belfast; 2007 — Belfast; 2008 — Camden Hills; 2009 — Mount View; 2010 — Mount View; 2011 — Belfast; 2012 — Belfast; 2013 — Mount View; 2014 — Camden Hills; 2015 — none; 2016 — Belfast; 2017 — Belfast; and 2018 — Belfast.

Courier Publications' sports staff can be reached by email at or by phone at 594-4401.