The Maine House and Senate this week announced committee assignments for the 130th Legislature.

Sen. Chip Curry, D-Belfast, will serve as Senate chairman of the Joint Standing Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Business. The IDEA Committee is responsible for looking at a wide range of issues, including supporting Maine’s workforce, strengthening local businesses and encouraging economic development.

Curry also will serve on the Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee, which is responsible for hunting, fishing, trapping, ATVs and boating. The first-term state senator represents all of Waldo County. He was sworn in Dec. 2.

In the state House, representatives also have received their Joint Standing Committee assignments. Each joint standing committee is composed of three senators and 10 representatives.

Rep. Vicki Doudera, D-Camden, has been assigned to the Joint Standing Committee on Environment and Natural Resources. She ran unopposed for this, her second term representing District 94 (Camden, Rockport and Islesboro).

Rep. Stanley Paige Zeigler, D-Montville, has been assigned to the Environment and Natural Resources Committee and the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee. Zeigler is serving his third term representing District 96 (Belmont, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill, Palermo and Searsmont).

Rep. Jan Dodge, D-Belfast, has been assigned to the Educational and Cultural Affairs Committee. Dodge is serving her second term representing District 97 (Belfast, Northport and Waldo).

Rep. Scott Cuddy, D-Winterport, is serving on the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee, as well as on the Labor and Housing Committee. Reelected to a second term, Cuddy represents District 98 (Frankfort, Searsport, Swanville and Winterport).

Rep. MaryAnne Kinney, R-Knox, has been assigned to the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee. She is serving her fourth term as the representative from District 99 (Brooks, Burnham, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Monroe, Thorndike, Troy and Unity).

Rep. Sherman Hutchins, R-Penobscot, is serving on the Marine Resources Committee. Now beginning his second term, he represents District 131 (Dedham, Orland, Otis, Penobscot, Prospect, Stockton Springs and Verona Island).

Lawmakers are assigned to committees by the presiding officers based on their interests, experience and professional backgrounds.

The Legislature will reconvene in the new year.