WISCASSET — The threat of inclement weather did not dampen the enthusiasm of the large contingent of fans who packed the grandstands at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday, June 26. Brief bouts of light sprinkles throughout the night kept race officials on edge, but thanks to the work of the race teams and track staff, the show went on uninterrupted.

After missing their visit during the shortened 2020 season, the stars and cars of the North Eastern Midget Association (NEMA) returned to the coastal Maine track, one of their favorite stops, on their tour for “Ames True Value NEMA Night.” A trio of Group 2 divisions added to the show, with Late Model Sportsman, Strictly Streets, and Modifieds also in action.

As expected, the NEMA Midgets did not disappoint. Avery Stoehr kicked off the show with a bang, as he claimed the checkers in the opening 10-lap heat race. On the final lap of the race, he posted a record-breaking lap of 12.875-seconds around the 3/8-mile banked track. The previous record of 12.924 was set by Alby Ovit in 2019.

In the 30-lap spotlight feature, former champ John Zych charged to the front from mid-pack and withheld a late-race challenge from Stoehr to claim the victory, his third career win at Wiscasset. Stoehr settled for a second-place finish to go with his new track record. NASCAR Modified star Ronnie Williams made his NEMA debut and turned in an impressive third-place finish.

The NEMA Lite 25-lap feature saw exciting three-wide action throughout the field as they jockeyed for position and a shot at the win. Multi-time NEMA Midget champ Randy Cabral got out to an early lead and withstood late-race challenges from Paul Scally and Jake Trainor to take the win.

Trainor continues to be one of the top drivers in the NEMA Lite ranks. He chased Cabral across the line for second. They were joined in victory lane by Jim Santa Maria. Scally looked to chase down Cabral as they approached the final five laps, only to develop engine problems. He wound up 14th.

In the support division action, Josh St. Clair of Liberty continued his amazing season with a victory in the 20-lap feature for the Portland Glass Strictly Streets. To date, the third-generation racer has six wins in 2021. In Saturday’s Strictly Street feature, he was joined in victory lane by his teammate Kurt Hewins, and points leader Jonathon Emerson.

Ryan Ripley of Thomaston took home the first-place trophy in the 30-lap feature for the 88.5FM Modifieds. Points leader and reigning champ Adam Chadbourne took second, followed by Mike Brown.

The 40-lap feature for the Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman saw 21 cars take the green flag. The race was slowed by a pair of cautions. Matt Bourgoine started seventh and picked his way to the front to grab an emotional victory. Over the final 10 laps he held off five-time champ Chris Thorne and previous winners Josh St. Clair and Tiger Colby to take his first career Late Model win. Thorne took the second-place trophy and Colby beat out St. Clair for the final spot in victory lane.

The results from June 26 racing were:

NEMA Midgets (30 laps) — 1, John Zych, Mendon, Mass.; 2, Avery Stoehr, Assonet, Mass.; 3, Ronnie Williams, Ellington, Conn.; 4, Matt Merry, Plaistow, N.H.; 5, Paul Scally, Raynham, Mass.; 6, Randy Cabral, Kingston, Mass.; 7, Matt O’Brien, Wilmington, Mass.; 8, Doug Cleveland, Sudbury, Mass.; 9, Andy Lunt, Marion, Mass.; and 10, Alan Chambers, Atkinson, N.H.

NEMA Lites (25 laps) — 1, Randy Cabral, Kingston, Mass.; 2, Jake Trainor, Medway, Mass.; 3, Jim Santa Maria, Burlington, Conn.; 4, Chris Vose, Gloversville, N.Y.; 5, Mike Pernisiglio, Ronkonkoma, N.Y.; 6, Avery Stoehr, Assonet, Mass.; 7, Kyle Valeri, Monument Beach, Mass.; 8, Richie Coy, Haskell, N.J.; 9, Connor Souza, no town given; 10, Tiana Kibbe, Fairfield, Conn.; 11, Dylan Coutu, Hopeville, Conn.; 12, Ethan Dion, Oakdale, Conn.; 13, Dennis O’Brien, Deerfield, N.H.; and 14, Paul Scally, Raynham, Mass.

88.5FM Modifieds (30 laps) — 1, Ryan Ripley, Thomaston; 2, Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich; 3, Mike Brown, Hope; 4, Faith Cleaves, Pownal; 5, Allan Moeller, Kingfield; 6, Brian Treadwell, Hancock; 7, Mark Simond, Lewiston; and 8, Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls.

Portland Glass Strictly Streets (25 laps) — 1, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 2, Kurt Hewins, Turner; 3, Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 4, Ashton Reynolds, Liberty; 5, Mac Hannan Jr., Washington; 6, Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 7, Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls; 8, Keith Drost, Etna; 9, Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 10, Dan Brown, Peru; 11, Bernie Dinsmore, Hope; 12, Brett Osmond, Wiscasset; 13, Dean Rice, Nobleboro; 14, Chad Wills, Oxford; 15, Caleb Emerson-Mains, Richmond; and 16, Ethan Dinsmore, Hope.

Wood Pellet Warehouse Late Model Sportsman (40 laps) — 1, Matt Bourgoine, Stetson; 2, Chris Thorne, Sidney; 3, Tiger Colby, Wiscasset; 4, Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 5, Brandon Fowler, Rome; 6, Ryan St. Clair, Wiscasset; 7, Scott Hall, Jay; 8, Andrew McLaughlin, Harrington; 9, Frank Moulton, Clinton; 10, Chris Burgess, Hartford; 11, Ben Erskine, Skowhegan; 12, Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 13, Ray Dinsmore, Limerick; 14, James Barker, Turner; 15, Connor Wenners, Edgecomb; 16, Garrett Leiter, Winslow; 17, Will Collins, Waldoboro; 18, Alex Waltz, Walpole; 19, D.C. Alexander, Carmel; 20, Doug Phillips, Phillips; and 21, Brandon Bailey, Wiscasset.

Ken Minott, who works for Wiscasset Speedway, contributed information to this story.