BELFAST — One cannot ask for much more for a championship game then spectators at the Waldo County Little League baseball championship game for Thursday, July 1 at Walsh Field.

With the score tied 5-5 in the bottom of the sixth inning, top-seeded Belfast Silver (12-0) got a walkoff hit and run from Hayden Brimer as the squad completed an undefeated season with a 6-5 win over No. 3 Tri-Town (6-7).

That was an exciting ending to the 2021 campaign after there was no Little League in 2020 due to the pandemic.

Team members for Belfast Silver include Zackery Bailey, Brody Balicki, Garak Brimer, Hayden Brimer, Chamberlain Coombs, Carter Fournier, Brody Ingraham, Ivan Ingraham, Caysen Leach, Ross Philbrook, Sebastian Sprague and Braylon Stover. The team is coached by Brent Waterman, Daryl Leach, Very Bailey and Paul Button.

Team members for Tri-Town, which represents Searsmont, Morrill and Belmont, include Ashton Doolan, Kale Fowler, Cole Gerrish, Avery Gobin, Kellan Harvey, Finneas Holmes, Tucker Marden, Hunter Mehuren, Ethan Newton, Julien Richards, Zephyr Stoddard and Adam Taylor. The team is coached by Cote Ward.

Tri-Town team members, who finished second in the Waldo County Little League baseball playoffs for 2021. Mark Haskell

The championship game originally was scheduled for Wednesday, June 30, but was pushed to Thursday due to rain and lightning the previous day.

The final regular-season standings had Belfast Silver (10-0) as the top seed, Brooks (8-2) second, Tri-Town (4-6) third, Belfast Blue (4-6) fourth, Mount View (3-7) fifth and Searsport (1-9) sixth.

In the first round of the single-elimination playoffs, No. 5 Mount View defeated No. 4 Belfast Blue 16-5 and No. 3 Tri-Town defeated No. 6 Searsport 11-1, while Belfast Silver and Brooks received byes. In the second round, Belfast Silver bested Mount View 3-2, while Tri-Town bested Brooks 11-3 to set up the championship final.

In Thursday’s championship game, Belfast Silver scored one run in the first inning, three in the third, one in the fourth and one in the sixth, while Tri-Town plated three in the fourth and two in the fifth.

Leading the newly-crowned league champs at the plate were Hayden Brimer (triple, 3 runs), Coombs (single), Ivan Ingraham (2 singles, run), Garak Brimer (2 singles, run), Philbrook (run) and Fournier (double).

For Tri-Town, Holmes (single), Marden (run), Stoddard (run), Gobin (run) and Doolan (2 runs) paced the offense.

Hayden Brimer and Ivan Ingraham combined to pitch for Belfast Silver and allowed one hit and 10 walks, with nine strikeouts. Gerrish and Taylor toed the rubber for Tri-Town and allowed seven hits and seven walks, with six strikeouts.

Belfast Silver took an early 1-0 lead when Hayden Brimer drew a lead walk, moved to second on a wild pitch and scored on a single to right by Ivan Ingraham.

That score held until the higher seed momentarily broke things open with a three-run third inning.

Coombs drew a walk — but was eliminated on a fielder’s choice — before Garak Brimer had an infield single that stalled on the third base bag.

After a walk was issued to Philbrook, Fournier cleared the bases with a double and motored to third base on an error to give Belfast Silver a 4-0 lead.

In the top of the fourth, Marden reached on an error and eventually scored Tri-Town’s first run on a wild pitch, Stoddard was forced in on a bases-loaded walk issued to Newton and Doolan scored on a fielder’s choice to bring the lower seed within one run at 4-3.

Hayden Brimer scored Belfast Silver’s fifth run in the fourth as he crossed the plate after a single by Ivan Ingraham, while Tri-Town tied the score in the fifth on a two-run single by Fowler.

That set the stage for Hayden Brimer in the bottom of the sixth, as Hayden Brimer slapped a single to right-center field and came in on an error to plate the championship-winning run.

Earlier in the season, Belfast Silver defeated Tri-Town in a nine-inning game.

In the WCLL Minor League Division, No. 5 Searsport took the road less traveled and claimed the league title.

The final regular-season standings had Belfast Gray as the top seed, Belfast Blue second, Tri-Town Blue third, Liberty fourth, Searsport fifth, Brooks sixth, Knox seventh and Tri-Town Red eighth.

In the single-elimination playoffs, No. 1 Belfast Gray beat No. 8 Tri-Town Red 17-3, No. 5 Searsport beat No. 4 Liberty 5-4, No. 2 Belfast Blue beat No. 7 Knox 9-8, No. 3 Tri-Town Blue beat No. 6 Brooks 12-0, No. 5 Searsport beat No. 1 Belfast Gray 10-5, No. 3 Tri-Town Blue beat No. 2 Belfast Blue 11-9 and No. 5 Searsport beat No. 3 Tri-Town Blue 3-1 in the championship game.

Team members for Searsport include Cody Bartlett, Douglas Foster, Mark Foster, Jaxson Gilmore-Gross, Tobin Hieter, Sylas Littlefield, Marius Mattola, Mayce McFarlin, SIlas Perkins and Parker Philbrick. The team is coached by Joshua McFarlin.

Minor League champs from Searsport. Kristen Waterman