THOMASTON — Twelve Maine roadways from Aroostook to York County will soon be dedicated to Maine State Troopers who died in the line of duty.

“Our hope is the dedication of these road segments and the memorial markers will serve as reminders to honor our fallen heroes who gave everything they had in service to others.” said Maine State Police Colonel John Cote.

“These markers are part of the commitment to our fallen and their surviving families that as an agency and a state, we will never forget their sacrifice.”

Back in June, Gov. Janet Mills signed into a bill into law that would dedicate one mile of Maine’s secondary roadways to each trooper who dies or has died in the line of duty.

“With the signing of this bill into law, we’re paying our respects to the 12 Maine State Troopers we’ve lost in the 100 years of the force’s existence, and to any troopers we may sadly lose in the future,” said Sen. Bill Diamond, the bill’s sponsor. “Recognizing these fallen heroes on the roads they patrolled and in the communities they served is such a meaningful statement.

The dedicated roadways will be marked with memorial signs in both directions of the roadway, and will be located as close as possible to the patrol area of the fallen officer.

On Wednesday, Sept. 15, two of the 12 families will unveil their fallen Trooper’s sign.

At 10 a.m., family members of Trooper James Drew Griffith will unveil his sign in Thomaston.

Griffith was killed April 15, 1996, when a vehicle struck his cruiser as he was attempting to make a U-turn to pursue a speeding car in Warren. The memorial signs will be placed on Route 1, beginning at the intersection with Dexter Street and extending south one mile.

Patrolman Fred Foster, who was killed in the line of duty Aug. 30, 1925, will also have a memorial dedication in Belfast on Route 3, beginning at Schoodic Drive and extending west by one mile.