Beginning with the June 2022 primary, residents in several Waldo County towns will be voting in different Maine House election districts as a result of population changes reflected in the 2020 Census. While most municipalities still will be represented by Waldo County legislators, Freedom, Palermo, Burnham and Troy will move to mixed districts with towns from other counties.

Other election jurisdictions for the county remain unchanged in the 130th Legislature’s 2021 Apportionment Commission report, delivered at the end of September and approved by the governor.

U.S. Congress

While some Maine municipalities will shift from U.S. House District 1 into District 2, all of Waldo County remains in District 2, currently represented by Rep. Jared Golden, D-Lewiston. Maine continues to have two U.S. senators who represent the entire state, Republican Susan Collins and independent Angus King. Under the reapportionment, the District 1 population is 681,179; District 2, 681,180.

Maine Senate

Waldo County remains intact as represented in the state Senate, with one seat, currently held by state Sen. Chip Curry, D-Belfast, representing all of the municipalities in the county.

Maine House

In the state House of Representatives, voters in Waldo County towns face a number of changes.

In apportioning Maine’s 151 House districts, the commission determined the median or ideal district would have a population of 9,022. A district population 5% above the median would be 9,473; a population 5% below the median would be 8,571.

Most Waldo County towns are apportioned into the relatively contiguous Districts 37, 38, 39 and 40, with remaining towns moving to the largely Kennebec County Districts 62, 63 and 68.

District 37

Maine House District 37 will include Prospect, Searsport, Stockton Springs, Winterport, and part of Frankfort. That section of the town lies generally east of a line that begins with Loggin Road at the border of Winterport, then runs southeast along the center line of Loggin Road until it intersects North Searsport Road, then southwest along the center line of North Searsport Road until it intersects the Central Maine Power transmission line corridor, then southeast along the transmission line until it intersects the Frankfort-Prospect boundary.

At present, Frankfort, Searsport, Swanville and Winterport form District 98, represented by Democrat Scott Cuddy of Winterport. Prospect and Stockton Springs currently are part of District 131, represented by Republican Sherm Hutchins of Penobscot. The new House District 37 has a population of 9,374, a 3.9% deviation from the desired median of 9,022.

District 38

District 38 will include Brooks, Jackson, Knox, Monroe, Swanville, Thorndike, Unity, Waldo and the area of Frankfort that lies west of the line described above. The new District 38 has a population of 9,154, a 1.46% deviation from the median.

Currently, Brooks, Burnham, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Monroe, Thorndike, Troy and Unity form District 99, represented by Republican MaryAnne Kinney of Knox; Swanville is in District 98.

District 39

New House District 39 consists of Belfast, Belmont and Northport, with a population of 9,464, a 4.9% deviation from the 9,022 median. At present, Belfast, Waldo and Northport form District 97, represented by Democrat Jan Dodge of Belfast, while Belmont lies in District 96.

District 40

House District 40 includes Islesboro, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill and Searsmont in Waldo County, and Appleton in Knox County. Islesboro currently is part of District 94, together with Camden and Rockport; Waldo votes in District 97; and the five remaining towns in the new district lie at present in District 96, represented by Democrat Stanley Paige Zeigler of Montville.

House District 40 has a population of 8,631, a deviation from the 9,022 median of -4.33%.


The town of Palermo, currently part of House District 96, will move to House District 62, which comprises municipalities in three counties: China and Windsor in Kennebec County, Hibberts Gore and Somerville in Lincoln County, and Palermo in Waldo County. The new District 62 has a population of 9,211, which is a 2.09% deviation from the 9,022 median.


Freedom, currently part of House District 99, is reassigned to House District 63, which will consist largely of the Kennebec County towns of Albion, Unity Township and part of Winslow. House District 63 has a population of 8,961, which deviates -0.68% from the median.

Burnham, Troy

The towns of Burnham and Troy, also part of the current House District 99, will become part of House District 68, together with Clinton in Kennebec County and Pittsfield in Somerset County. House District 68 has a population of 9,392, a deviation of 4.1% from the 9,022 median.

The Apportionment Commission’s final maps can be found at 

Census figures for Maine, Waldo County and individual municipalities in the county are shown in the table below.

2020 Census figures, with increases and decreases, for Waldo County municipalities.